Skip to main content

History - U.S.: Databases

A general guide for researching U.S. history

Databases -- Finding Articles

FINDING ARTICLES

US History-Specific Databases

America: History and Life 

Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal literature, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals.

American Periodicals 

Scanned and searchable full-text images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. Coverage includes popular and scholarly as well as regional and niche publications.  Coverage 1741 - 1900

Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present 

Speeches, essays, articles, letters, leaflets, trials, interviews, monographs and periodicals written by leaders within the black community from 1700 to 2005. Over 100,000 pages illustrate the evolution of what it means to "be black." Authors include teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, and entertainers. Find influences and read history in their words. Approximately 20% of the content is previously unpublished and fugitive, such as the recovered transcript of the Muhammad Ali trial; a full run of The Black Panther newspaper, with full-color images of every page as well as searchable text; and 2,500 pages of Panther oral histories owned by the Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation, published as text and also with selected audio files here for the first time.

Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest Congressional Publications) 

Search by agency, Superintendent of Documents number and serial set.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 

Over 36,000 texts covering life in 17th- and 18th-century America, e.g., agriculture and auctions, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans, enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement. As of July 13, 2010, includes the Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 

Over 36,000 texts, completing the Early American Imprints set. Series II is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. You also have access to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800. Search Early American Imprints, Series I and II and American Broadsides and Ephemera, 1760-1900 in the combined search interface, America’s Historical Imprints.

Everyday Life and Women in America, c. 1800-1920 

This digital collection explores American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It is made up of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home.

Foreign Relations of the United States Series (FRUS) 

Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now contains more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies. The series is published in paper, but many of the volumes have been digitized either by the Department of State or the libraries at the University of Wisconsin at Madison or the University of Illinois at Chicago. The Department of State volumes begin with 1945/50, while those digitized by the University of Wisconsin and Illinois at Chicago cover the years 1861-1960. UK Libraries has these volumes in paper in the Government Publications section of Young Library (call number S1.1).

Historical Statistics of the United States 

Compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources with over 37,000 data series. Online version of the revised 5 volume paper resource...
You can download tables in Excel or CSV, and also download entire groups of tables as a zip file. You can also create custom tables by merging columns from multiple tables, then download, print, or graph the resulting tables.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 

Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies to document the multiplicity of women's reform movements.  Coverage 1600 - 2000 (Basic Ed.)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases​

Academic Search Complete 

Full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

JSTOR 

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in E-Journals A-Z.

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 

Indexes 512 magazines. Available through EBSCOhost.  Coverage 1890-1982.