Page Contents
Below you will find resources grouped by Microfilm Collections, African American Baptist Annual Reports Microfilm Collection, and Records of the Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War.
- UK Libraries Microfilm Holdings Database
This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources. Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Courier-Journal). To find other available Kentucky newspapers, search the InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog or consult the librarians at the Reference Desk.
This database provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources. Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Courier-Journal). To find other available Kentucky newspapers, search InfoKat Discovery, the Libraries' online catalog, or consult the Ask Us Desk.
The microfilm is available for viewing by appointment at the William T. Young Library or the Special Collections Research Center in the Margaret I. King Library. If you are unable to travel to campus, you can request microfilm through your Interlibrary Loan department (only if you are affiliated with another institution) or visit the Contact Us page to order a digital scan of a microfilm reel(s). There is no fee for this service, but we ask that patrons limit their requests to three reels per month.
Microfilm Collections
- Christian recorder (Philadelphia, Pa.)Library has: 1854:Jul.13-1902:Dec.25
- Compiled military service records of volunteer Union soldiers who served with the United States colored troops: 54th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment (Colored)Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division relating to "negro subversion", 1917-1941
- Draper manuscript collectionLocated in the Special Collections Research Center
- Fannie Lou Hamer, 1917-1977 papers, 1966-1978, n.d.Papers are concerned with the civil rights movement, with registration, and with new Black oriented organizations. The materials are organized into personal, organizational and other series.
- FBI file on Thurgood MarshallLocated at the Law Library
- Frederick Douglass' paperLibrary has 1856:Feb.1,1858:Sep.17,1859:July 8,1860:Feb.17. 1847-1860 available online.
- Home mission monthlyfrom the Woman's Board of Home Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A.
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: Bethune Foundation collection. pt. 1Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials and files on the National Youth Administration and Women's Organization, 1918-1955 / project coordinator, Randolph H. Boehm
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: Bethune Foundation collection. part 2Correspondence files, 1914-1955
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers Bethune Foundation collection, part 3Subject files, 1939-1955
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, part 4Administration of Bethune-Cookman College and the Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955
- Papers of Benjamin TappanTappan, 1773-1857.
- Papers of Lewis TappanTappan, 1788-1873.
- Papers of Mary Church TerrellTerrell, 1863-1954.
African American Baptist Annual Reports Microfilm Collection
- African American Baptist annual reports, 1865-1990s (Guide)We have the annual reports for the following states and areas, 1865-1990:
Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War
- Slave narratives : appraisal sheets: [typewritten records prepared by the Library of Congress Project, Works Progress Administration for the District of Columbia under the direction of Benjamin A. Botkin, 1939-41]Reel 1: Alabama. Arkansas. Florida. Georgia. Indiana. Maryland. Mississippi.
Reel 2: Missouri. North Carolina. Ohio. Oklahoma. South Carolina. Tennessee. Texas. - Slave narratives, a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slavesTypewritten records prepared by the Federal Writers' project, 1936-1938, assembled by the Library of Congress project, Work Projects Administration, for the District of Columbia. Sponsored by the Library of Congress. Library has volumes 1, 18 & 19, in hard cover under call number E441.A58.
- Washington Bee (Washington, D.C.1884-1922)African-American newspaper. Library has Aug.2, 1884-Jan.21, 1922.