Skip to main content

History - U.S.: Newspapers

A general guide for researching U.S. history

E-Journals A-Z

E-Journals A-Z

Search this resource for specific newspapers, current and historical, by title. Provides access information for paper and electronic formats.

Newspaper Resources

Access World News (NewsBank)

Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers
 

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Featuring 270 newspapers published in 36 states.
 

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of approximately 190 newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.\
 

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998

Full-text access to colonial and early American history, with titles from 23 states and D.C. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.
 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. 
 

Early American Newspapers

Full-text, mostly late 18th/early 19th century, covering colonial and early American history, with titles from 23 states and DC.
 

Ethnic NewsWatch

Provides full-text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, with more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. Includes publications from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities. Nearly 25% of the publications Spanish language
 

Google News Archive

Search newspapers back 200 years. Generate timelines of matching stories.Sources include Time.com, Factiva, HighBeam Research, Guardian Unlimited, AccessMyLibrary.com (Thomson Gale), and LexisNexis.

Lexington Herald-Leader

Searchable fulltext of all articles except records lists (e.g., births, police reports) and PAID obituaries. Also find records lists for the archives and the most current seven issues by using the search box at the bottom of the page at the Herald-Leader's archives page

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full-text for 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. contains selective full text for 489 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

New York Times

Searchable full-text of all articles except records lists (e.g., births, police reports) and PAID obituaries.

New York Times Historical Edition

Searchable full-text of the NYT from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. Coverage from 1851, excluding the most recent three years.

Nexis Uni

Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Includes the New York Times

Wall Street Journal (various editions)

Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest. Coverage is from 1984 to the present. Includes the Eastern U.S. edition plus Asian, European, and Americas.

Kentucky Newspaper Resources

Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program

For more than sixty years the University of Kentucky Libraries have preserved Kentucky newspapers, making them freely available to researchers, geneaologists, and the general public. Today, the Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program (KDNP) brings those newspaper collections to a global audience through an online interface that's fully keyword searchable, repleat with color page images, calendar browsing, and web-based html newspaper content alongside traditional print media.

Local History Index (Lexington, Kentucky newspapers)

Very selective index to Lexington, KY newspaper articles pertaining to significant people, places, events, churches, businesses and organizations in Lexington and Fayette County, Kentucky.