Essential Library Websites
Helpful STEM Research Guides
- Subject Research GuidesComplete list of research guides by department or college
Manage Your References
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Documents Used in Class
Welcome WRD 310 Students!
This guide will help you with class assignments and provide basic information on how to find and use information effectively, including:
- Translating information needs into search queries
- Improving search strategies
- Selecting appropriate databases
- Expanding search results
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Good luck this semester!
Library Resources Used in Class
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky)Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Helpful General Resources
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchAccess to social science data files, including coverage of such topics as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior/attitudes, terrorism, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Direct downloading is available. SIGN IN WITH EMAIL (NOT institution).
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)Journal evaluation resource. JCR Science Edition contains data about more than 8,000 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data about more than 2,600 journals in the social sciences.
- List of All UK DatabasesUK Libraries subscribes to over 400 research databases for students, faculty and staff to use. Contact any librarian for assistance.
