The following core resources are widely used by clinicians, researchers, and students. More detailed lists are found under the other top row tabs on this Pharmacy Research Guide.
Lexi-Comp - Point-of-care drug resource containing information about interactions, Drug ID module, toxicology, herbal medicine, calculations, and patient care. Restricted by password to University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy faculty, students, and staff only.
Micromedex - Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, herbal medicines, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to POISINDEX Toxicologic Substance Identification, IDENTIDEX Imprint Code Identification, DRUGDEX Product Index, DRUG-REAX Interactive Drug Interactions, IV INDEX IV Compatibility, and The CareNotes System. Access restricted to computers located within the UK Medical Center. Note: Wireless access to laptops and mobile devices not currently available via campus wireless network.
PubMed - Includes more than 24 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) - Reviews and presents pharmaceutical literature. Coverage includes clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs. Scans over 750 journals published worldwide. All U.S. state pharmacy journals are included as well as most publications on cosmetics. Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
InfoKat (UK Libraries' online catalog) - Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 10 libraries' holdings, including books, journals (by title, NOT by article), and other resources. While some electronic journals are listed in the catalog, it is best you search for electronic journals in the E-Journals Database. Search for databases on the Find Databases and Other Electronic Resources page.
E-Books - Searchable collection of key medical and pharmacy electronic books available via UK Medical Center Library.
E-Journals - An interdisciplinary collection of electronic journals available via UK Libraries.
FDA - U.S. Food and Drug Administration site. Contains news, regulatory information, drug lists, product approvals and recalls.
NLM Drug Information Portal - Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.
MedlinePlus - The consumer health website produced by the National Library of Medicine. Provides access to high quality and authoritative information on diseases, drugs, clinical trials, and other consumer health topics. It includes current news items, dictionaries, directories, interactive health tutorials, and encyclopedias.
Google Scholar - Google Scholar includes scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research, all languages, and from a wide variety of sources. Disclaimer: Google does not warrant that the information is complete or accurate.
Mobile Device Resources for Clinicians - Contains information about health resources available to UK clinicians and students via mobile devices.