African History
- African Kingdoms: An Encyclopedia of Empires and CivilizationsThis encyclopedia covers the history of African kingdoms from antiquity through the mid-19th century, tracing the dynasties' ties to modern globalization and influences on world culture before, during, and after the demise of the slave trade. Includes firsthand accounts of Africa through the oral traditions of its people and the written journals of European explorers, missionaries, and travelers who visited Africa from the 15th century and onward.
- Encyclopedia of African Colonial ConflictsThis encyclopedia introduces the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrates why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century.
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaThe set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
- Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African historyWith nearly two hundred and fifty individually signed entries, the Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and their politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts were transformed during the course of that Janus-faced century.
Books
Key Events in African History by Call Number: 3rd Floor ; DT20 .F34 2002ISBN: 0313313237Publication Date: 2002-08-30This reference guide to African history provides substantive entries on 36 watershed events that shaped the history of the continent from the prehistoric past to the dawn of the 21st century.
The Cambridge History of Africa by Call Number: 3rd Floor ; DT20 .C27xISBN: 0521204135Publication Date: 1975-09-18The Cambridge History of Africa is an illustrated, eight-volume history of Africa published by Cambridge University Press between 1975 and 1986. Each volume is edited by a different person.
A History of Africa by Call Number: DT20 .F348 2022ISBN: 9780190690991Publication Date: 2021-12-24A History of Africa is the most comprehensive story of the place all humans call home.
History of Africa by Call Number: 3rd Floor ; DT20 .S47 2019ISBN: 9781137504036Publication Date: 2018-09-12This fourth edition of this best-selling core history textbook offers a richly illustrated, single volume, narrative introduction to African history, from a hugely respected authority in the field.
Websites
- AFRICAN STUDIES CENTERThe African Studies Center (ASC) at Boston University is one of the nation’s oldest leaders in promoting African language and area studies since its founding in 1953.
- General History of AfricaThe General History of Africa (GHA) is a pioneering corpus, unparalleled in its ambition to cover the history of the entire African continent, since the appearance of human beings to contemporary challenges faced by Africans and their Diasporas in the world. From Unesco