African American Literature Encyclopedias
- Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950Focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.
- American Slavery: A Historical Exploration of LiteratureUtilizing key selections from American literature, this volume aligns with ELA Common Core Standards to give students a fresh perspective on and a keener understanding of slavery in the United States.
- Notable African American WritersThis new edition documents the ever-growing African American literary tradition, from centuries ago to modern storytellers, and includes new and updated entries. The title explores African American writers’ inspiration to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how they contributed to American culture. Alphabetical entries include biographical details, literary career, and a list of major works in all genres.
- Icons of African American Literature: the Black Literary World : The Black Literary WorldIcons of African American Literature: The Black Literary World examines 24 of the most popular and culturally significant topics within African American literature's long and immensely fascinating history. Each piece provide substantial, in-depth information--much more than a typical encyclopedia entry--while remaining accessible and appealing to general and younger readers.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Writing, Third EditionA timely survey of an important sector of American letters, African American Writers examines a multitude of black cultural leaders from the 18th century to the present.
- Oxford companion to African American literatureThe Companion includes entries on 150 major works of African American literature (including synopses of novels), from Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl,Richard Wright's Native Son, to Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun; on literary characters, ranging from Bigger Thomas, to Coffin Ed Johnson, Kunta Kinte, Sula Peace; on character types, such as Aunt Jemima, Brer Rabbit, John Henry, Stackolee, and the trickster; and on such icons of black culture as Muhammad Ali, John Coltrane, Marcus Garvey, Jackie Robinson, John Brown, and Harriet Tubman.
Books
African-American Literature by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.N5 A37 2003ISBN: 9781590335666Publication Date: 2003-01-01This new book presents an important overview of African-American literature as well as a comprehensive bibliography with easy access provided by title, subject, and author indexes.
A Companion to African American Literature by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.N5 C57 2010ISBN: 9781405188623Publication Date: 2010-05-10Through a series of essays that explore the forms, themes, genres, historical contexts, major authors, and latest critical approaches, A Companion to African American Literature presents a comprehensive chronological overview of African American literature from the eighteenth century to the modern day.
African American Literature by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.N5 A3364 2004ISBN: 1563089319Publication Date: 2004-12-30This is the first readers' advisory guide to focus specifically on African American literature.
African American Literature by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.N5 A33644 2020ISBN: 9781440871504Publication Date: 2019-11-15This essential volume provides an overview of and introduction to African American writers and literary periods from their beginnings through the 21st century.
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature by ISBN: 9780195138832Publication Date: 2001-02-15A breathtaking achievement, this Concise Companion is a suitable crown to the astonishing production in African American literature and criticism that has swept over American literary studies in the last two decades.
Contemporary African American Literature by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.N5 C644 2013ISBN: 9780253006257Publication Date: 2013-08-28In this volume, Lovalerie King and Shirley Moody-Turner have compiled a collection of essays that offer access to some of the most innovative contemporary black fiction while addressing important issues in current African American literary studies.
African American Literary Theory by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.N5 A335 2000ISBN: 0814758096Publication Date: 2000-07-01African American Literary Theory: A Reader is the first volume to document the central texts and arguments in African American literary theory from the 1920s through the present.
Video
- The Harlem RenaissanceThe Harlem Renaissance was an explosion of African-American culture and creativity that began in 1920s New York.
Websites
- Black LiteratureFrom the Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century: HomeFrom the Digital Schomburg of the New York Public Library