Recent Books
Black Women and Public Health by ISBN: 9781438487311Publication Date: 2022-03-01The three dozen authors in this volume offer analysis, critique, and recommendations for overcoming longstanding and contemporary challenges to equity in public health practices.
Frederick Douglass in Context by Call Number: 4th Floor ; E449.D75 F7395 2021ISBN: 9781108478731Publication Date: 2021-07-08Frederick Douglass in Context provides an in-depth introduction to the multifaceted life and times of Frederick Douglass, the nineteenth-century's leading black activist and one of the most celebrated American writers.
Soundies and the Changing Image of Black Americans on Screen by ISBN: 0253058554Publication Date: 2021-12-07In Soundies and the Changing Image of Black Americans on Screen: One Dime at a Time, Susan Delson takes a deeper look at these fascinating films by focusing on the role of Black performers in this little-known genre.
Depictions of Home in African American Literature by Call Number: 5th Floor ; PS153.B53 H37 2021ISBN: 9781793649638Publication Date: 2021-12-06In Depictions of Home in African American Literature, Trudier Harris analyzes fictional homespaces in African American literature from those set in the time of slavery to modern urban configurations of the homespace.
African and African American Literature Databases
- 20th-Century African American PoetryFull-text collection of modern and contemporary African-American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Features 10,000 poems by over 70 African-American poets.
- African American Poetry of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth CenturiesContains the full-text of nearly 3,000 poems by 49 African American poets.
- Black DramaFull-text database that provides access to over 1,300 plays, including works by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Additionally includes information on related productions, theaters, production companies as well as selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 500 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
- African Writers SeriesReprints of essential texts including distinctive contemporary national literature, widely studied, and post-colonial literature.
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African DiasporaFull-text of stories, fables and folktales, including previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by a wide variety of authors. Also includes complete runs of selected literary magazines that feature short stories, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon, as well as many early North American black-owned and edited journals and newspapers.
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.
WorldCat.Org
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.
Questions? Just ask us.