Manage Your References
Use these tools to organize and cite your references:
Journal Tools
-
CASSI Need help finding an ACS journal abbreviation? Look in CASSI to find the correct abbreviation.
-
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Journal evaluation resource. JCR Science Edition contains data about more than 8,000 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data about more than 2,600 journals in the social sciences.
-
JSTOR Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
Finding Journal Articles
There are two primary ways to access journals at the University of Kentucky. To find online journals, use the Journals Search through Browzine to search by the journal title or by subject. To find print journals, search journal titles in InfoKat Discovery (be sure to limit to Advanced Search and Library Catalog).
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad consults the UK Libraries holdings data to determine if and where an article is available. You can add LibKey Nomad to your browser and access library collections (articles, journals, etc.) within one click. It works across databases, publisher sites and resource websites such as Google Scholar. Just add the free web browser extension to your favorite browsers and it is always working for you! Simple instructions are provided below.
Finding Books
STEM print collections are housed throughout the campus libraries, especially the Science & Engineering Library, William T. Young Library and the Medical Center Library. To search for ebooks and print books, use InfoKat Discovery. Select Advanced Search and Library Catalog, choose Any Field for a keyword search, Title search or Author search. For more tips using InfoKat Discovery click here.
Items in William T. Young Library are housed primarily in Library of Congress call number order; see the Young Library map for call number locations.
Finding Dissertations & Theses
Theses and dissertations contain a wide array of research and can be valuable resources. To find theses and dissertations from the University of Kentucky, you can search in InfoKat Discovery or in UKnowledge to access the Electronic Theses & Dissertations from the University of Kentucky.
For theses and dissertations from other institutions, Dissertations and Theses Global from ProQuest includes references to U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses, with detailed abstracts. Many are full-text, especially the most current.
Finding Resources UK Does Not Own
If UK does not have access to the book, article or other resource you need, then request it through our Interlibrary Loan service free of charge.
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
-
Off-Campus AccessCurrent UK students, faculty, voluntary faculty, and staff can use their linkblue login to access UK Libraries’ electronic resources from off campus.
Publishing Research
UK Libraries offers assistance with publishing your research, including Open Access Fee Discounts from vendors and information about compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy. Click on the links for the latest information.
STEM Librarian
Request New Library Materials
Contact STEM Librarian Valerie Perry with any requests for purchasing library materials or fill out the InfoKat form for book recommendations.