Dietetics & Nutrition Resources
As the Agriculture, Food & Environment Librarian, I can:
- Meet with you in person (via Zoom), by phone or over e-mail to discuss any of your information needs.
- Provide information consultations to assist students, faculty & staff with literature searching and other information gathering.
- Develop and teach library orientations or information-related classes based on your recommendations.
- Present at department meetings.
- Create customized online tutorials for use by on- and off-campus faculty, staff & students.
- Conduct literature searches for CAFE faculty & staff
- Take your recommendations for expanding electronic and print resources for the UK Libraries' collection.
- Feel free to email me with any information-related questions, or just to see what I can do for you and your research or educational information needs.
7th Edition Quick Reference Guide
APA Style Blog
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
APA Sample Papers
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Guide to APA 7th edition
NOTE: Purdue OWL has merged with Chegg, a for-profit company that has created a citation machine service for citation management. This partnership has resulted in pop-up advertisements appearing on OWL screens as well as permitting Chegg influence on OWL's citation help pages. Those using the OWL may wish to keep these things in mind.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th EditionCall Number: Medical Center Library Permanent Reserves T 11 A5123p 2020ISBN: 9781433832161The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Selected Databases
- BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRMBIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). To access this resource, select it from the drop down menu at the top of the search box.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) CompleteProvides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available, plus the full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL
- eBook Collection (from EBSCOhost)The EBSCOhost eBook Collection provides full-text access to electronic books, including reference books, scholarly monographs, university press publications and consumer books.
- ProQuest DatabasesAccess to a wide range of databases primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky)Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
More Databases
An Introduction to Nutritional Medicine: Where Darwin Meets Hippocrates by ISBN: 9781527557628Publication Date: 2020
Nutrition Education: Strategies for Improving Nutrition and Healthy Eating in Individuals and Communities by ISBN: 9783318065282Publication Date: 2020-01-14
BrowZine provides access to the scholarly journal content available through the University of Kentucky Libraries, providing an easy and familiar way to browse, read, save and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines on your mobile device or desktop/laptop
You can create a personal bookshelf of your favorite journal titles and receive new issue and article notifications on your mobile device.
Access the Desktop Version of BrowZine @ https://libguides.uky.edu/3309
Download the app @ https://browzine.com/libraries/487/app-promotion
- Database Searching SkillsThese core concepts and tutorials for searching databases will help you when searching for literature.
- Introduction to the New PubMedIncludes an overview of primary business databases and tips about conducting library research on business subjects. Recommended for Business Students.
- Understanding a PubMed Search Results PageClick-through tutorial identifying elements of a PubMed search results page.
- Understanding an Article Citation in PubMedClick-through tutorial identifying elements of a PubMed article citation.
Accounts to Set Up
- EndNoteUK students, faculty, and staff may download a free, licensed copy of EndNote from the UK Download site at http://download.uky.edu.
- LibKey NomadChrome browser extension for finding UK Libraries full text journal article subscriptions.
- PubMed MyNCBI AccountThis will allow you to save articles and searches in PubMed.
Frequently Asked Questions
UK Libraries has shifted to a team model of service for the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment. The library STEM Team will support CAFE.
All STEM Liaisons are located in WT Young Library. For library assistance, please contact the team at stemlib@l.uky.edu
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts for publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings
- Access World NewsContains 3687 sources from 152 countries, including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Full-text of Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers.
- ACSESS DL: Alliance of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Societies' Digital LibraryIncludes ASABE standards, conference proceedings, society journals, textbooks & technical documents; over 5,000 searchable full-text documents.
- AgricolaCitations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science CollectionIncludes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Technical Library (ASABE)Brief description here.
- CAB Abstracts (CABI) with Full TextAgricultural and applied life sciences journals, books, proceedings, monographs, and technical reports, with emphasis on agronomy, forestry, public health, environmental issues, and the management of natural resources.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997.
- eBook Collection (from EBSCOhost)Full-text electronic books (eBooks). Search over 45,000 eBooks, including publications from all of the major university presses
- Nexis UniIncludes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals.
- ProQuest DatabasesAccess to a wide range of databases primarily in the sciences and social sciences. Search one or many databases at a time.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky)Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 12,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
To locate an electronic format journal, or E-Journal, navigate to the UK Libraries search box and select E-Journals (see image below). Enter the title of the journal and click the "Search" button.
To locate the print version of a journal, navigate to the UK Libraries search box and select Library Catalog (see image below). Enter the title of the journal and click the "Search" button. .
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.
If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.
Navigate to the UK Libraries InterLibrary Loan login page. If this is your first time using ILL, you will be asked for some information to set up your account. Main Campus users will log in with LinkBlue credentials (see image below).
The first step in determining what words to use in your search is to identify your key concepts. These are the main ideas of your research topic or question. Once you have identified these, you can begin to think of related terms to further flesh out your ideas. These related terms may be synonyms or more or less specific terms related to your key concepts. Consider, for example, the common and scientific names for your key concepts.
Learn more by visiting the Database Searching Skills Guide. Still have questions? Contact Jason Keinsley or Beth Reeder for additional assistance with your search.
To locate eBooks, navigate to the UK Libraries search box and select Library Catalog (see image below). Enter a title or desired search terms and click the "Search" button.
After running this initial search, from the left sidebar, refine your results to eBooks by selecting the Resource Type limiter "Books" and the Availability limiter "Full Text Online" (see image below). Click the "Apply Filters" button.
FIND A BOOK OR JOURNAL
LEARN ABOUT RESOURCES
Contact CAFE Liaison Librarian Helen Bischoff or the STEM Library Team for assistance.
Related Guides
RESEARCH GUIDES
SUBJECT GUIDES
COURSE GUIDES
