Streaming Classical Music at UK Libraries
- Classical Music LibraryStreaming classical music service that enables listening and learning on campus and home computers. Includes c. 15,000 recordings, along with program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings.
- DRAM: Database of Recorded American MusicA scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes, and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels. Includes the Experimental Intermedia Archive.
- Naxos Music LibraryStreaming (64K and 20K) classical music service that provides access to a collection of nearly 76,000 CDs. Offers the complete catalog of Naxos recordings, including the Naxos, Marco Polo, and DaCapo catalogs, plus jazz and world music. Also available are online texts of opera synopses, librettos, and a pronunciation guide. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.Please note: Limited to 11 simultaneous users.
Europeana
- European's Sound Recordings Collecction
Europeana's Sound Recordings Collection contains over 61,000 recordings of traditional and folk music from Ireland, Lithuania, France, Netherlands, Greece, Latvia, and other European countries.
Library of Congress National Jukebox
The National Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.
Open Music Library Videos
- Open Music Library
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library provides access to many open-access videos and audio recordings.
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam
Stream videos of performances by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam for FREE.
Other Free Streaming Resources
- The Lomax Kentucky RecordingsA collaborative project from the Association for Cultural Equity, Berea College; the Library of Congress; and The University of Kentucky.
- J. S. Bach Organ WorksRecorded by James Kibbe.
Streaming Video at UK
- Naxos Video LibraryStreaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries; includes full-length videos. You can create custom clips, edit them and add them to individual playlists. Search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival. Libretto/text is included when available. Please note: Limited to two simultaneous users.
- Met Opera on Demand: Student AccessStreaming access to 550+ full-length Met performances in various video and audio versions.
- Medici.tvStreaming access to thousands of classical music, opera, and dance videos; includes filmed musicals since the 1940s, filmed concerts, documentaries, masterclasses, and live broadcasts. Also contains synopses, casts, and performers' biographies.
Other Streaming Resources at UK Libraries
- American MusicA vast collection of music streaming files. American Music includes contemporary folk/roots/Americana music, early rock & roll, soul, funk, R&B, doo-wop, boogie-woogie, early Biograph recordings, blues, jazz, gospel, spirituals, disco, blues-rock, reggae, bluegrass, country, rockabilly, and honky-tonk.
- Naxos Music Library JazzStreaming music site that includes c. 65,000 tracks of jazz from over 6,000 albums with over 12,000 jazz artists (as of Feb. 2012). The music is drawn Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 150 other labels. Select works by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number. New jazz releases are continually added. Please note: Limited to two simultaneous users
- Smithsonian Global SoundMusic Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Comprised of thousands tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this streaming encyclopedia provides listeners with a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Can't Find What You Want?
Many libraries loan AV materials. Check WorldCat and submit a request through ILLiad.
Try the Lexington Public Library. It has a large circulating AV collection. UK students have borrowing privileges.