Searching Journals and Periodicals
Below you will find links to databases specifially for journals, periodicals, and articles. You will find more information and a focus on JSTOR, RIPM, Music Index, and Music Periodicals Database using the drop down menu on the 'Journals, Periodicals, and Articles' tab at the top of the page.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library which currently includes more than 2,000 core academic journals along with monographs and other materials.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Search RIPM
Search Music Index
Search Music Periodicals Database
Search RILM
Music Indexes
- Music Index
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts of articles about music and citations for book reviews, obituaries, and news articles. Includes articles from over 660 journals; coverage dating back to 1964. - Music Periodicals Database
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from hundreds of international music periodicals and journals. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Coverage includes music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music, classical music, opera, music theory, music business, and more. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of writings about music; includes hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records featuring citations, abstracts, and indexing. It covers publications from 1800-2021 and in all document types from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and more. Includes citations for all document types including books, conference proceedings, journal articles, dissertations, internet resources, and audio and visual recordings.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
An international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture published in 17 countries between 1766-1962. Indexes the content of complete runs of journals and offers access to thousands of English-language translations of foreign documents. Some direct access to the full-text of the article cited.
Other Indexes & Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. - Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
- This link opens in a new window
Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. - Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index in Web of Science indexes 87 major American and European art periodicals such as Apollo, ARTnews, Art Bulletin, museum journals, etc. - Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)
This link opens in a new window
Over 600,000 titles held at CRL are searchable through the catalog, including collections of newspapers, microform, journals, and dissertations. Coverage for all formats is international. Holdings are often unique and hard to find elsewhere. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. - Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. - MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Search Music Periodicals Database (IIMP)
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Oxford Bibliographies in Music
In Oxford Bibliographies in Music, each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
Clink on the [+] Find this resource: link to access online content available through UK Libraries.
Open-Access Music Journals
Open-access journals are digital, online journals that are free to access and often free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.
- Open-Access Music JournalsA searchable database of open-access music journals, maintained by Matthew Franke.
- Open Access Research GuideLearn more about open access in education and research at Adrian Ho's Open Access research guide.
ILLiad InterLibrary Loan
Use InterLibrary Loan to get an article that UK does not own.
Login to ILLiad.