Finding Articles & Journals
Articles appear in journals and are found by searching databases. See the Databases tab on this Research Guide for a partial list of transportation databases. For a list of all databases in the UK Libraries, see the Databases tab on the Libraries' home page.
If an article is available electronically, the database may provide a link to the article or provide a link to the journal via the View Now @ UK button. You can also search for electronic journals by title or category using E-Journals A-Z.
If the article is not available electronically, look for a print version of the journal title in InfoKat Discovery, much like you search for a book.
The journals below are some of the most frequently cited in transportation research. They are a good place to begin your research. UK Libraries subscribes to these journals and they are available full-text electronically through the UK Libraries website.
- IEEE Transactions on Intelligent Transportation Systems
- IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology
- Journal of Transportation Engineering, Part A. Systems (American Society of Civil Engineers)
- Transportation (Springer)
- Transportation Research, Part A - Policy & Practice
- Transportation Research Part B - Methodological
- Transportation Research Record (Transportation Research Board)
- Transportation Science (Institute for Operations Research)
- E-Journals A-Z
This link opens in a new window
Title-by-title database of the journals available full-text in electronic form through University of Kentucky Libraries' subscriptions. The primary purpose of the E-Journals Database is to give you access to specific, known journal titles you are seeking. (Search for JOURNAL here, not ARTICLE.) - InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- This link opens in a new window
Finding Books
The transportation collections include books, videos and other formats. Most are housed in the Science and Engineering Library or the Kentucky Transportation Center Library. Transportation materials may be found in other UK campus libraries too. Books may be print or electronic.
Use InfoKat Discovery to search for books, videos, etc. Books can be searched by keyword, subject, title, author, ISBN, etc.
KTC Library - The Kentucky Transportation Center (KTC) Library has a small collection of materials that may be borrowed. Contact the Transportation Librarian for help in locating materials.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- This link opens in a new window
Finding Resources UK Doesn't Own
Just because the University of Kentucky Libraries doesn't own a book or journal doesn't mean it can't be accessed.
Use the Libraries' InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service, ILLIAD, to obtain books or copies of articles needed for research.
- Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan may be used by UK faculty, staff, and students to request resources (books, articles, etc.) from other libraries.