Quick Search TRID Database
TRID is the primary transportation database for finding books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles.
Search Tips
To improve the quality of your database search results, consider trying:
- Exact Phrases
- For an exact match, enclose the phrase within quotes: "traffic signals"
- Wildcards/Truncation
- Using a wildcard searches more than one form of the word
- Transport* searches transport, transportation, transporting….
- Most common is an asterisk (*), but symbols vary by database
- Two exceptions for UK Libraries are:
- InfoKat Discovery uses a question mark (?)
- Nexis Uni uses an exclamation point (!)
- Using a wildcard searches more than one form of the word
- Boolean Operators – broaden/narrow searches
- AND narrows a search
- bridges AND concrete searches for the occurrence of both bridges and concrete
- OR broadens a search
- accidents OR crashes searches for the occurrence of either accidents or crashes
- NOT excludes term(s) following NOT
- pavement NOT concrete will provide results on pavement that don’t include concrete
- AND narrows a search
If you are not sure how something works, use the help or tips screen on the database or contact library staff for assistance.
Key Transportation Databases
Primary Databases in Transportation:
- TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) and ITRD (International Transport Research Documentation) Database Contains records from both TRIS and ITRD databases. Web access with full-text links when available.
This link opens in a new window
- Compendex This link opens in a new window Engineering research abstracts database (online version of Engineering Index).
This link opens in a new window
Additional Databases for Transportation
These are a selection of databases used for transportation research. For a complete list of all the databases provided by the UK Libraries, go to the UK Libraries home page and select the Databases tab or contact a librarian for assistance.
- Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection A variety of science and technology databases
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window Primary geological database with articles back to the 1700s.
- This link opens in a new window
- IEEE Xplore Multidisciplinary engineering database focused on electronic, computer, and electrical engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
- OSTI (Office for Scientifc and Technical Information) OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI’s home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.
- This link opens in a new window
- NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service) Primary government database providing access to government documents and reports.
- This link opens in a new window
- Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Technical Papers on CD-ROM Papers on CD-ROM in the Science and Engineering Library. Not online. Covers 2004-2006. Located on the 3rd floor. Ask at the main desk for assistance.