Standards available at UK Libraries
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass provides access to electronic versions of standards from the American Society of Testing and Materials, as well as to ASTM publications. - IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
Click: BROWSE and select "Standards" to view electrical engineering, computer engineering, and electronics standards (including NESC).
Definitions
Standards: A technical standard is an established norm or requirement. It is usually a formal document that establishes uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, processes and practices. (Wikipedia)
Specifications: An explicit set of requirements to be satisfied by a material, product, or service. (Wikipedia)
Regulations: An authoritative rule dealing with details or procedure (ex. safety regulations). A rule or order issued by an executive authority or regulatory agency of a government and having the force of law. (Merriam Webster's Online Dictionary)
Statutes: Laws enacted by the legislative branch of a government. (Merriam Webster's Online Dictionary)
Transportation Standards & Specifications
Following are some resources for transportation-related standards and specifications.
- Kentucky Standard Specifications for Road and Bridge Construction From the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
- Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD) for Streets and Highways U.S. Dept. of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration
- Standard Specifications for the Construction of Roads and Bridges on Federal Highway Projects From the U.S. Dept. of Transportation Federal Highway Administration
- Steel Bridge Design Resources The National Steel Bridge Alliance (NSBA) and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) collaborated to make certain standards freely available online.
Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing. American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO). Individual specifications and tests are available for purchase from AASHTO or SAI Global Standards InfoStore. Older print copies are available in the Science & Engineering Library.
Regulations
Following are resources for transportation regulations..
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Title 23 covers Highways and Title 49 covers Transportation.
This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- This link opens in a new window
Laws or Statutes
Following are resources for legislation, statutes, or laws.
- Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
- This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. - United States Code See Title 23 - Highways or Title 49 - Transportation.
- This link opens in a new window