It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Introduction to Business Resources: Company Resources
This guide contains information on how to do research in the field of business.
It is much harder to find financial information on private companies than it is for public companies. While public companies are required by law to disclose detailed financial information to the SEC (available from the EDGAR database and Nexis Uni), private companies can decide how much information they wish to make available.
You can also find news articles about private companies by searching Business Source Complete, Nexis Uni, and Factiva. It can also be helpful to search local newspapers.
Finally, be sure to check the company's website. Each company makes differing amounts of information available publicly, ranging from none to quite a bit. If any information is available, it may be behind small print links with titles like "financial information," "investor information" or "fact sheets."
NAICS and SIC
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)are numerical classification systems created by the United States government. These systems are used to group/classify like companies into industries for the purposes of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC system was originally developed in the 1930s and was last updated in 1987. The NAICS system was first released in 2002, updated in 2007 and last updated in 2012.
While NAICS has "officially" replaced SIC, many business directories and databases still use one or both of the systems. Therefore, it is important to know about both SIC and NAICS.
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) consists of four digit numbers that apply to a company based on the type of products or services it produces.
An example of an SIC Code is: 5812 = Eating Places
The newer North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) employs six digits to allow for a more detailed system of industry classification.
An example of a NAICS Code is: 722110 = Full Service Restaurants
Some library databases, books, and web sites allow you to search using SIC and/or NAICS codes. It is very helpful to know what your industry code is before starting your research in Library and government resources.
Site maintained by the United States Department of Labor Contains detailed descriptions and a searchable index for the 1987 version SIC manual.
Company's Website - Almost all companies have websites which divulge varying amounts of information about themselves. In most cases, they will not offer detailed financial information, but sometimes, in an effort to attract investors, they will give some hints. Look for links for Public Relations, Marketing, New Products. Often the links are at the bottom of the page and in small print.
Another good source are local newspapers, which often cover smaller, private, regional businesses that do not make it into the national databases.
One of the largest business databases, with indexing of academic journals, trade publications, and general business magazines. A great deal of company information can be found doing a general search. Change the box to the right to "CO Company Entity" field for a more focused search. You can also search Company Profiles by clicking on the "More" button and then "Company Profiles" located on the top of the screen.
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. It also offers comprehensive dossiers on many companies and a company database with information on 15 million companies.
Indexes business news sources including newspapers, journals, magazines, newswires, and company press releases. Information on both public and private companies can be found doing a basic keyword search. For a more focused search, restrict the search terms to the Headline or Lead Paragraph by preceding your search term with "HLP=" (For example: HLP=Lexmark). Another way to search companies is to click on "Companies/Markets" and then "Company" on the link at the top of the page.
EDGAR is the SEC's Electronic Data Gathering and Retrieval system. You can find most financial documents filed with the SEC on this website. There are numerous forms that businesses must regularly file with the SEC, including the 10k annual report and the 10Q quarterly reports.
Indexed collection of corporate and industry manuals. Mergent's Full Collection of Digitized Manuals Begins with the first Moody's Manual published in 1909. Includes linked tables of contents for every manual.
Call Number: HF5065.K4 K46 Latest volume in Ready Reference; older volumes on the 4th Floor.
Lists Kentucky Businesses by city and yellow page category. List manufacturers by city and SIC Code. Includes a section for major employers. Listings include address, phone number, name of owner/manager, credit rating, number of employees, years in business, and estimated sales.
Includes several databases with listings for every business registered in Kentucky. Limited amount of information is available here including name of owner or director, address of business, date business was founded, and whether the business is active or not.