Business and Economics Liaison
Introduction
As the Academic Liaison for Business and Economics, I welcome questions and comments from all Gatton College faculty as well as faculty from related fields. Please bring me any questions, concerns, or suggestions you have about library resources or services.
Research Resources
Research Consultation
If you have a research question or problem that you would like to discuss with me, we can schedule a consultation session via Zoom. Please use the "Schedule Appointment" link on the right side.
EndNote
EndNote is a citation management software package that can help you keep your research materials organized as you research and write. Many of our databases will export citations directly into EndNote.The software is available for download though the UK Download page. More detailed information is available on the EndNote research guide.
Request a Purchase
If there are materials (books, datasets, databases) that you would like to see added to the UK Library collection, please contact me at jennifer.horne@uky.edu. I am happy to consider any request.
Interlibrary Loan
If the University of Kentucky Libraries does not have access to an article or book that you need, our Interlibrary Loan service can usually borrow a copy from another library for you to use. Information about the service can be found on the library's Interlibrary Loan page. NOTE: your library card number is on the back of your UK ID card.
Datasets
Datasets Available: UK Libraries has several sources for datasets in the business and financial areas.
Online Sources
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of datasets in many social science disciplines, including economics.
- ICPSR Research GuideInformation about using ICPSR.
- Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)WRDS provides access to selected databases in the fields of finance, accounting, economics, management, marketing, and public policy. To use, UK faculty and graduate students must request a WRDS account, available on the front page of the WRDS site.
- Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics produced by federal agencies, states, intergovernmental organizations, and private enterprise with its advanced Search Tables functionality. - World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
This link opens in a new window
This contains statistical data from the World Bank for over 695 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2004 and selected data for 2005 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators. - IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides predefined data reports or "build your own query" reports by country, topic, or data source, as well as queries within both the International Financial Statistics (IFS) and Trade and Investment. Also includes the IMF Data Mapper which allows you to plot, compare, and import data from countries and regions. Data is drawn from:
•International Financial Statistics – international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.
•Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.
Teaching Resources
Information Literacy Resources
I am available for in-class or virtual information literacy sessions tailored to your class needs and assignments. I can spend a class period (or whatever amount of time you would like) going over the library resources with your students. I am also open to opportunities for more in-depth partnering with Gatton College faculty on more long-term research projects for your class.
Contact me via email at jennifer.horne@uky.edu or fill out the Information Literacy Instruction Request form.
Also, consider linking to one of our research guides through your Canvas page -- there are several business-related subjects, including accounting, business, economics, and marketing.
Course Guides
I can create an individualized course guide tailored to your specific course and assignments.
Student Consultations
Please refer your students to me when they need research help. I am always happy to work with graduate and undergraduate students on any research question. They can contact me via email or schedule a consultation by Zoom using the link on the left side of the page.
Reserve Material
If you would like to place physical or electronic materials on reserve for your students, information is available on the library's Reserves page.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. WRDS provides researchers with access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface. This hosted data service has become the locus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool. WRDS provides a single interface to access Compustat, CRSP and other large financial and economic data files.
- In order to use WRDS, you must first create an account (WRDS is only available to facutly and graduate students). Go to the WRDS registration page. Fill out the account request form. Select the University of Kentucky from the pull down menu and select the appropriate option for affiliation type. Use your UK email address, not a gmail or other account. Click the "Register" button. Within the next day or so, you will receive an email with further instructions.