Business and Economics Liaison
Introduction
As the Academic Liaison for Business and Economics, I am the contact for all masters and PhD students in the Gatton College. Please bring me your questions regarding library resources or services. Let me know if you need help with your research or library assignments. I will be happy to meet with any graduate student in person or communicate via email, phone, or Zoom.
Also, if you are a TA and would like me to speak to your class about library resources, please contact me at jennifer.horne@uky.edu OR fill out the Information Literacy Instruction Request Form.
New - Online Tutorial for Business Students
This online tutorial is designed to provide business students with information about specific library resources which would be useful to their studies. The tutorial is designed to allow students to work through it from beginning to end or enter it at any point.
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. It provides access to selected databases in the fields of finance, accounting, economics, management, marketing, and public policy. To use, UK faculty and graduate students must request a WRDS account, available on the front page of the WRDS site.
Select the University of Kentucky from the pull down menu and select the appropriate option for affiliation type. Use your UK email address, not a gmail or other account. Click the "Register" button. Within the next day or so, you will receive an email with further instructions
Datasets
Datasets Available: UK Libraries has several sources for datasets in the business and financial areas.
Online Sources
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchA wide-ranging collection of datasets in many social science disciplines, including economics.
- ICPSR Research GuideInformation about using ICPSR.
- Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)WRDS provides access to selected databases in the fields of finance, accounting, economics, management, marketing, and public policy. To use, UK faculty and graduate students must request a WRDS account, available on the front page of the WRDS site.
- Statistical InsightProvides access to statistics produced by federal agencies, states, intergovernmental organizations, and private enterprise with its advanced Search Tables functionality.
- World Development Indicators (WDI) OnlineThis contains statistical data from the World Bank for over 695 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2004 and selected data for 2005 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators.
- IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)Provides predefined data reports or "build your own query" reports by country, topic, or data source, as well as queries within both the International Financial Statistics (IFS) and Trade and Investment. Also includes the IMF Data Mapper which allows you to plot, compare, and import data from countries and regions. Data is drawn from:
•International Financial Statistics – international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.
•Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.
Research Resources
Research Consultation
If you have a research question or problem that you would like to discuss with me, we can schedule a consultation session via Zoom. Please use the "Schedule Appointment" link on the right side.
EndNote
EndNote is a citation management software package that can help you keep your research materials organized as you research and write. Many of our databases will export citations directly into EndNote.The software is available for download though the UK Download page. More detailed information is available on the EndNote research guide.
Request a Purchase
If there are materials (books, datasets, databases) that you would like to see added to the UK Library collection, please contact me at jennifer.horne@uky.edu. I am happy to consider any request.
Interlibrary Loan
If the University of Kentucky Libraries does not have access to an article or book that you need, our Interlibrary Loan service can usually borrow a copy from another library for you to use. Information about the service can be found on the library's Interlibrary Loan page. NOTE: your library card number is on the back of your UK ID card.
Graduate Student Survival Guide
UK Libraries has created a general guide to library services and resources called the Graduate Student Survival Guide.
The Research Process
A few books which might be helpful:
Basic Research
- Business Research Projects byCall Number: HD30.4 .J360 1995 - 4th Floor
- Writing for Academic Journals byCall Number: LB2369 .M87 2009 - 4th Floor
Dissertation Research
- Mastering Your Business Dissertation byCall Number: HD30.4 L66 2011 - 4th floor
- Surviving Your Dissertation byCall Number: LB2369 .R83 2007 - Education Library
If you would like to see examples of past dissertations from the University of Kentucky, paper copies are housed on the 5th Floor of WT Young Library in the rotunda and west wing. They are organized by year and then alphabetically by the author's last name.
Some newer dissertations are submitted electronically - they can be viewed in the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Database.
You can also look at examples of dissertations from practically all US and Canadian universities (as well as some in Europe) use ProQuest's Dissertations and Theses Global database.