It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Dance Heritage Coalition is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance and has published a collection of essays, images, and biographies of 113 American individuals and institutions that have made a significant impact on dance as an art form.
DHC provides access through one portal to dance-related collections held by libraries, museums, archives, and dance organizations. Many of these finding aids are available through other websites or in person at their respective institutions. This portal provides the convenience of being able to search all dance-related collections that have been contributed, making it easier and faster for researchers to locate primary sources in their research topic.
The Dance Notation Bureau (DNB) creates dance scores through a system symbol notation called Labanotation. Dance scores function for dance the same way music scores function for music, allowing the dances to continue to be performed long after the lifetime of the artist. DNB has produced and houses scores by artists such as George Balanchine, Paul Taylor, Antony Tudor, Bill T. Jones, Doris Humphrey, William Forsythe, José Limón, Laura Dean, and about 270 others.
The Dance Notation Bureau (DNB) Library maintains the world's largest collection of original Labanotated dance scores. This catalog is not a complete inventory of the DNB’s holdings but does include information regarding the most frequently requested materials used by stagers and researchers worldwide. It includes scores in Labanotation but not scores in other forms of notation, e.g., Benesh.
American Ballet Theatre (ABT) has designed a unique interactive resource that pairs 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet with videos and images of the positions demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.
Call Number: available online to University of Kentucky researchers
With over 2,600 entries, the second edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Dance is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance. Covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms, and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.