Scholarly Criticism
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. - Literature Online
- This link opens in a new window
Contains reviews from several film journals, many with full-text. Search in "Criticism and Reference" for best results. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes several scholarly and popular film journals with some full-text options. A good source for film reviews, scholarly material about films, and information on the film industry. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a "Film Studies" section that features back-files of several film journals. Also, some of the journals in the "Language and Literature" section cover film. - Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Contains many film related reviews and analyses. Dates range from 1975 - present for articles; 2000 - present for abstracts. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing for several important film journals from 1964-2006. For best results, use the "Advanced Search" to find article titles and authors or browse by journal title in the "Film, Theater, and Performing Arts" discipline category. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
- This link opens in a new window
Archived back-issues of several film-related journals with full-text. Dates range from 1802-2000. For best search results, search by keywords in "Article Search" or for journal title in "Find Journals." A list of film journals can be found in "Find Journals" under the "Performing Arts" subject. - Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes several scholarly and popular film journals with some full-text options. On the EBSCOhost platform.
General Resources for Film Reviews and News
Many of these databases will feature film reviews or news about the film industry in general. For best results when searching for reviews, use the "Advanced Search" option whenever possible and specify both the title of the film you are researching and the term "review."
- ProQuest US Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes many newspapers, including the New York Times, which contain film news and film reviews. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Features full-text from several domestic and international news sources, such as the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Times (London), as well as many Kentucky titles. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Index with full-text of newspapers, and some magazines. Includes transcripts from television and radio news programs. See "How to Find a Critical Review." - New York Times Historical Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1851, excluding the most recent three years. (Note: It is helpful to have a date to narrow your search.) - Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
- This link opens in a new window
Includes several journals specifically about film, as well as many general interest magazines which feature reviews. Does not offer full-text directly, but you can use the View Now button to look for other sources of full-text (see the box to the left). - ProQuest News and Newspapers Combined Search
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes many newspapers, including the New York Times, which contain film news and film reviews.
Film Review Sites
- Movie Review Query EngineLinks to movie reviews from hundreds of sources including newspapers, magazines, and websites.
- Internet Movie Database (IMDB)To find reviews, go to the "All Topics" link in the upper right corner of the page for any individual film. Then, click on "External Reviews."
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
How to Find Specific Journals
If you are looking for electronic access to a specific journal, you can find it by using E-Journals A-Z.
Search by the journal title, NOT the article title, and it will link you to the database that has the full-text (when available). Check the dates of coverage for each journal if you are looking for a specific article.