Books on Film
100 Ideas That Changed Film by Call Number: PN1997.8 .P375 2012Publication Date: 2012Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception.
Rule of Thumb by Call Number: PN1998.3 .R46 2012Publication Date: 2012Explores the values, temperament, character, and style that have made Roger Ebert the most trusted and influential film critic in America.
Scholarly Reviews and Indexes
This list is NOT a comprehensive list of all the libraries' materials on film but a selection of our best resources. If you cannot find what you are looking for, search in InfoKat Discovery.
- Film Literature Index(1973-2004) A subject and author index to the international film and television/video literature appearing in periodicals. Reviews are listed under individual film titles. Broadly international in it’s coverage, but excludes purely fan-based and purely technical journals.
- Film Review Annual(1991-2002) Single reference volume covering important reviews of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year. After the last review for each film there is a section called “Also Reviewed,” which lists other publications in which the film is reviewed. Includes several indexes and an appendix listing the major awards with winners and nominees.
- Film Review Index(1882-1985) An attempt to supplement Film Literature Index and International Index to Film Periodicals by indexing additional publications ignored by those two. Not an attempt to include every film ever made, but those of lasting importance. Indexed by year, director, and country of origin. Includes a books-consulted list in the back. Organized by film title with a list of sources below.
- International Index to Film PeriodicalsPublication Date: 1972 - 1991Entries are arranged in sections according to broad subject categories. For reviews, look under the film’s original title in the “individual films” section.
- New York Times Film ReviewsPublication Date: 1913-2000Includes reviews that appeared in the New York Times. Other film-related articles are also included, such as top 10 lists for each year. Full-text facsimile of original articles as they appeared in the newspaper.
- Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971Index for the entire contents of 14 important film journals from their beginnings through December 1971, plus the film reviews and articles from the Village Voice. Organized into three sections: Individual Film (by title), Subjects, and Book Review Citations.
- Selected Film CriticismSeven volume work covering the years 1896-1960 (with one volume devoted to foreign film). Includes contemporary reviews of films reprinted in their entirety. One or two reviews are included for each film. Index to the whole set is included in volume 7.
Reference Resources
- Film Studies DictionaryListing of terms and definitions for words and phrases used both in the academic study of film and in the specialist, often technical, language of the film industry. Contains no entries for individual people. Aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in a variety of places.
- New Historical Dictionary of the American Film IndustryA dictionary of American producing and releasing companies, technical innovations, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations.
- The Film IndexAn inclusive bibliography covering the world of film that is a good source for period reviews and reflections of period values and ideals. Entries are divided into categories such as film history, techniques, and types of film. Covers a wide range of publications – including both books and periodicals.
- Dictionary of Cinema Quotations from Filmmakers and CriticsA compilation of quotations from filmmakers and critics. Arranged by topic and indexed by filmmaker, title, and keywords.
InfoKat Discovery
To find other books and journals on film studies, search in InfoKat.
To find books, search InfoKat Discovery by author, title, or keyword. It will list the location and call number for each book.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
Subject Headings
Subject headings can be very useful for searching for materials about general topics. Here are a few examples of useful subject headings:
Film Catalogs
- American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in the United States(1911-1950, 1961-1970)
Each volume alphabetically lists the feature films produced in the United States during the years covered. Each entry includes credits, a synopsis, and appropriate subject headings. The index volumes allow users to search for films by genre, geographic location, and personal names.
- AFI CatalogThe American Flim Institute's catalog contains detailed information about every theatrically released feature film between the years 1893 - 1993. For films released after 1993, basic information is included.
- Halliwell's Film and Video GuideListing of films with short synopsis, major credits, availability on DVD/Video, and a 0-to-4 star rating. Appendixes list Academy Award winners as well as 3 and 4 star movies. Earlier editions are available.
- Magill's Survey of CinemaA four volume set that analyzes films from 1927-1980, providing plot synopses and critical discussion on production, acting, direction, script, and cinematography.
- Motion Picture GuideA 10 volume set covering films from the years 1927-1984, with vol. 10 devoted to the silent film era. Includes a description, cast and credit information, and a rating (1 to 4 stars) for each film. Features entries for most English speaking films, as well as many foreign language films.