International Film
General information about international/foreign films from a variety of regions.
- World Wide Box OfficeProvides data about the highest grossing films around the world in U.S. dollars.
- International Film Guide 2009Covers the international film output of more than 120 countries. Gives coverage of major film festivals and events as well as critically assessing films and documentaries.
Western Europe
Includes the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain.
- Encyclopedia of European CinemaOffers short biographies of notable filmmakers, actors, and other film industry contributors, as well descriptions of institutions and critical concepts.
- EuropeanaA database of digital resources from European museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections. Includes resources of film and film clips.
French Cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.F8 D73 2011Publication Date: 2011Examines France's role as the inventor of cinema and its pivotal influence over the language of cinema across the past century.
- FilmPortal- GermanLists information for thousands of German films, including news, pictures, and film clips. Site may be translated to English by selecting the icon in the top right corner.
- Studying German CinemaFocuses on fourteen key German films and explores their aesthetic approaches, auteurist traditions, and ideology as well as the industrial practices of both West and East Germany.
Asia
Contemporary Asian Cinema: Popular Culture in Global Frame by Call Number: PN1993.5 A75 2006Publication Date: 2006Covers film theory and Asian cinema, popular film genres, major industry figures, cultural policies, representations of national identity and more.
Chinese Women's Cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C4635 2011Publication Date: 2011Transnational Contexts
Explores twenty-one female filmmakers from mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and the Chinese diaspora and how their work has contributed to film culture.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film- JapanAn overview of Japanese film, spanning the first golden age of Japanese cinema, the war years, and the New Wave movement of the 1980s.
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia: Cinema—JapanA brief treatment of cinema in modern Japan. Discusses several prominent directors and filmmakers, popular trends in film, and how the cinema portrays Japanese culture.
A Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors by Call Number: PN1998.2 .J29 2008Publication Date: 2008- A Hundred Years of Japanese Film: a Concise HistoryAn authoritative guide on Japanese film that provides a detailed history of the country's cinema.
- Bollywood Movie DatabaseA database collecting over 5000 Bollywood films. The site is searchable and features filmographies and actor profiles.
Bollywood by ISBN: 1136849297Publication Date: 2013-03-05In Bollywood, anthropologist and film scholar Tejaswini Ganti provides a guide to the cultural, social and political significance of Hindi cinema, outlining the history and structure of the Bombay film industry, and the development of popular Hindi filmmaking since the 1930s.
Producing Bollywood by Call Number: 4th Floor ; PN1993.5.I8 G27 2012ISBN: 9780822352020Publication Date: 2012-03-07Producing Bollywood offers an unprecedented look inside the social and professional worlds of the Mumbai-based Hindi film industry and explains how it became "Bollywood," the global film phenomenon and potent symbol of India as a rising economic powerhouse.
Eastern Europe
- The BFI Companion to Eastern European and Russian CinemaOver 200 entries cover a variety of topics spanning from Czech animation to Soviet montage, from the silent cinemas dating back to World War I through to the varied responses to the conflicts in the former Yugoslavia.
- East European CinemasPresents an assessment of East European cinemas from theoretical, psychoanalytic, and gender perspectives.
Middle Eastern/African Film
- Francophone African Cinema: History, Culture, Politics and TheoryOffers a transnational and interdisciplinary analysis of 16 Francophone-African films and examines treatments of a number of cross-cultural themes.
- Screens and Veils: Maghrebi Women's CinemaExamines the intersections of nation and gender in seven films, showing how directors turn around the politics of the gaze as they play with the various meanings of the Arabic term hijab (veil, curtain, screen).
- South African Cinema, 1896-2010Focuses on the many highly creative uses of cinematic form, style, and genre as set against South Africa's complex and often turbulent social and political landscape.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film- Arab CinemaAn overview of Arab film, covering its origins and how it has developed since the wide-spread political shifts of the 1980s.
Latin American/South American Film
- LANIC- Cinema ResourcesA listing of film resources collected by the Latin American Network Information Center. (Note: Many of these sites are in Spanish.)
- A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino Made Film and VideoProvides descriptions of these works from a U.S. user's point of view. The film/video titles are indexed by subject and original title and English title for easy access.
- Latino American Cinema: an Encyclopedia of Movies, Stars, Concepts, and TrendsAlphabetized entries cover the key topics of this genre-films, filmmakers, stars, concepts, and historical and burgeoning trends.