Introduction
On this page, you will find resources that deal with the business side of filmmaking. The film industry is one of the most lucrative in the world, and there is a lot of money to be made. These resources will help both interested consumers and budding filmmakers understand this business.
Film Festivals
Film festivals are often a gateway into the industry for many young independent artists. They can win awards, fame, and invitations to much larger projects, as well as name recognition. Generally, films have low budgets and artists must pay to have their work considered. Some film festivals make profits with this fee, combined with consumer entrance fees and advertisements, but most are run as nonprofits.
Box Office Statistics
- Boxoffice MagazineYou can access full magazine issues older than five months on the website.
- Box Office MojoYou can find box office statistics by day, week, month, season, or year. There are also all-time record statistics.
- Screen DailyProvides articles on current box office stats.
- Worldwide Box OfficeA simple and easy-to-use list of the top box office releases. You can narrow by year and title.
Film Budgets
- The NumbersOffers tons of movie budget information, including top budgets, all-time profits, and quirky budget statistics.
- Most Overpaid ActorsFrom Forbes.
- Why Movies Cost so Much to MakeFrom Investopedia.
Other Websites
- The A.V. ClubNews related to reviews, trailers, and film analysis.
- Film SoundDedicated to sound components in the film industry - mixing, scores, and sound effects.
- Margaret Herick LibraryThis library has thousands of items and collections dedicated to the film industry. Many of their items are available to view online.
Books
Career Opportunities in the Film Industry by Publication Date: 2003This guide offers profiles of over 80 jobs in the film industry. Each profile details job duties, required experience and skills, advancement opportunities and salary ranges. Information is included on colleges, universities, film schools and websites, and a glossary of industry jargon.
A Concise History of Movie Industry Economics by Publication Date: 2005This short handbook collects essays on all aspects of the motion picture industry by leading authorities in political economy, economics, accounting, finance, and marketing.Topics include estimation of theatrical and ancillary demand, profitability studies, the resolution of evident paradoxes in studio executive behavior, the interaction of the industry and government, the impacts of the most recent changes in accounting standards, and the role and importance of participation contracts. Ebook.
The Contemporary Hollywood Film Industry by Publication Date: 2008The Contemporary Hollywood Film Industry is a collection of essays by leading scholars that examines the state of the U.S. film industry, from the 1980s to present day. Includes important discussions of the industry's labour and star systems, intellectual property, state relations, the role of independent producers, the global marketplace for Hollywood product, corporate changes, and various new media windows.
Film Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2008The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film and is considered the undisputed Bible of the movie industry. With up-to-date additions, this sixth edition features more than 7,500 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: producers, screenwriters, cinematographers, genres, schools of filmmaking, and motion picture studios and film centers.
Hollywood's Road to Riches by Publication Date: 2005Out-of-control costs. Box office bombs that should have been foreseen. A mania for sequels at the expense of innovation. Blockbusters of ever-diminishing merit. What other industry could continue like this - and succeed as spectacularly as Hollywood has? Combining historical and economic analysis, Hollywood's Road to Riches shows how, beginning in the 1950s, a largely predictable business has been transformed into a volatile and complex multimedia enterprise now commanding over 80 percent of the world's film business. At the same time, the book asks how the economic forces leading to this success - the forces of audience demand, technology, and high risk have combined to change the kinds of movies Hollywood produces.
Publications
- VarietyPremier entertainment trade magazine. Features industry data and statistics, interviews, and cultural articles.
- Hollywood ReporterOffers film reviews and box office analysis. You can access full issues though the library, and there is additional content online.
Industry Profiles
These in-depth reports from Business Source Complete detail economic considerations including market value, buyer power, company competition, and future predictions.
Company Profiles
These reporters showcase some of the leaders in the film and theater industry, including financial information, executives, and related publications.
Studios:
Theaters:
Trade Organizations
- American Film InstituteAFI is a nonprofit organization focused on education and preserving America's film heritage. It sponsors several festivals, awards, conferences, and events to promote the film industry.
- Motion Picture Association of AmericaThe MPAA bills itself as "the voice of one of the country’s strongest and most vibrant industries – the American motion picture, home video and television industry". It publishes trade information on topics such as copyright, creating jobs, free speech, and film ratings.
- National Association of Theatre OwnersNATO "serves the business, legislative, media and technology interests of theater owners in the United States and around the world" and represents over 60,000 screen.
- United Drive-In Theater Owners AssociationThe UDITOA strives to "promote commercial motion picture exhibition at drive-in theatres world-wide [and] to ensure drive-in theatres remain a viable and competitive part of the motion picture industry." This niche organization provides news and stats relevant to its members.
Grants
Young artists often apply for grants to offset the cost of filmmaking. There are hundreds of different film grants with specific eligibility and funding requirements so you can find one that meets your needs.