Socially Responsible Investing
"Socially responsible investing (SRI) refers to financial contributions into investment vehicles designed to combine the traditional investment philosophy favoring profit maximization with a values-based component seeking nonfinancial benefits.... These social returns vary in scope but can be broadly defined as company policies and actions that enhance a socially responsible investor's specific environmental, religious, or social values. These enhancements may or may not have any impact on the profit-maximization component of the socially responsible investment and may actually cause a socially responsible investment to decrease in value. Socially responsible investing is the common term for this practice in the United States but the concept is also referred to as 'ethical investing,' primarily in the United Kingdom, or 'values-based investing.'"
- from Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Print Books
Ethical-Ecological Investment by Publication Date: 2001Building on a comprehensive approach to the concept of sustainable development, the interdisciplinary project group "Ethical-Ecological Rating" has developed a scientifically based criteriology for ethical assessment of enterprises and capital investment, the "Frankfurt-Hohenheim-Guidelines." With these guidelines, business activities can be evaluated for their positive or negative contribution to environmental, social, and cultural sustainable development.
Socially Responsible Investment by Publication Date: 2002Investors can no longer just consider the financial aspects of a company before investing but also have to consider the complex world of ethical investments. Should the ethical policy take precedence over the financial aspects? What percentage of a company's income has to come from unacceptable sources before the source is excluded? Should any exclusion policy also extend to those involved in selling or transporting goods deemed unacceptable? This is the first book to look at socially responsible investment from the perspective of the institutional investor, who will be led through the complex dilemmas of socially responsible investment with practical examples and advice.
Websites
- Corporate Social Responsibility NewswireNews archive for SRI. 1999-present.
- Socially Responsible Investing: What You Need To KnowFrom Forbes, 2013.
- US SIF: The Forum for Sustainable and Responsible Investment"Our resources include introductions to integrating environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues into investment choices and information about financial performance with SRI. You will also find fact sheets on proxy voting and shareholder resolutions.Visit the Center for Sustainable Investment Education to learn about our online course the Fundamentals of Sustainable and Responsible Investment and to access our other resources."
Ebooks
Ethics in Finance by Publication Date: 2014Substantially updated new edition with nearly 40% new material, including sections on credit cards, mortgage lending, microfinance, risk management, derivatives, and securitization. Includes coverage and references to the recent financial crisis and the very latest developments within the financial world
Handbook of Environmental and Sustainable Finance by Publication Date: 2015The Handbook of Environmental and Sustainable Finance summarizes the latest trends and attitudes in environmental finance, balancing empirical research with theory and applications. It captures the evolution of environmental finance from a niche scholarly field to a mainstream subdiscipline, and it provides glimpses of future directions for research.
New Frontiers of Philanthropy: A Guide to the New Tools and New Actors that Are Reshaping Global Philanthropy and Social Investing by Publication Date: 2014This monograph is designed to overcome this problem, to provide the first comprehensible and accessible road map to the full range of important new developments taking place on the frontiers of philanthropy and social investment.
Next Generation of Responsible Investing by Publication Date: 2011Responsible investing provides a long-term sustainable investment strategy that values environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors in investment decision-making. The Next Generation of Responsible Investment explores this topic in an edited volume intended for those with an interest in finance and business.
Portfolio Theory and Management by Publication Date: 2013Includes a chapter on "Socially Responsible Investing".
Socially Responsible Investment in the 21st Century by Publication Date: 2014The first part of this book explores the innovative approach of socially responsible investors in building engagement approaches, mobilizing networks, developing new products, and proposing alternative models showing the potential to create change. The second part interrogates the limits of SRI in making a difference. It questions the potential of SRI to create change but also proposes ways to increase societal impacts of SRI. The last section of the volume addresses the boarder issues of values and governance and shows how they are central in the SRI discussion.
Reference Entries
- Investment, Socially Responsible (SRI)From Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
- Socially Responsible InvestingFrom Green Business: An A-to-Z Guide
- Socially Responsible InvestingFrom Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
- Socially Responsible InvestmentFrom Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by Publication Date: 2007The Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society spans the relationships among business, ethics and society, with an emphasis on business ethics and the role of business in society. Key features include: - a broad coverage of corporate social responsibility; -the obligation of businesses to various stakeholder groups; - the contribution of business to society and culture; - the relationship of business to the quality of the environment, including the issue of environmental sustainability.
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by Publication Date: 2012The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.- Ethical and Socially Responsible Investment byPublication Date: 2003Gives details of over 500 ethical and socially responsible information sources. It is aimed at information professionals providing business information services, whether in the private or public sector.
