Hispanic Studies

Collection of Latin American primary source materials made available online.

Important collection of digitized newspapers from Latin America.

Librarians, archivists, book dealers, book professionals, scholars, and students interested in collecting, preserving, and providing access to Latin American, Caribbean, Iberian, and Latino information resources in all formats. SALALM was founded in 1956 and incorporated as a nonprofit association in 1968.

Catálogo de la Biblioteca Nacional de México. Incluye materiales digitalizados.

A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Access to thousands of European archives, libraries and museums that provide access to millions of books, music, artworks and other material.

This a consortium of research libraries with free and open access for materials in Latin American studies.

The catalog from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas.

Para realizar una transcripción de documentos históricos existen dos caminos posibles: la transcripción literal y la transcripción modernizada.

The Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning Tool is an online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century.

El Diccionario de autoridades, publicado entre 1726 y 1739, fue el primer diccionario de la lengua castellana editado por la Real Academia Española, fundamento de lo que hoy se conoce como el Diccionario de la lengua española.

This Vocabulary contains over 600 words and morphemes commonly found in the documents and some of their variant spellings. There are two main parts: the main dictionary (Zapotec to English) and the English index, which can be used to look up a word in the main section.

La propuesta de compendiar este diccionario de autoría colectiva surgió del interés y la necesidad de reflexionar sobre el léxico especializado en el área de los estudios de la cultura y literatura latinoamericanas. Los términos seleccionados remiten a problemas, contextos y áreas geoculturales diversas y, en ese sentido, conforman un amplio mapa de la crítica latinoamericana. Buscando realizar una valoración y puesta al día del legado conceptual que es representativo de la historia cultural del continente, todos los términos considerados, articulados como un conjunto orgánico a través de referencias cruzadas, dan cuerpo al latinoamericanismo, formación discursiva atravesada de polémicas y sometida a una revisión crítica en los últimos tiempos. Material de referencia y utilidad para interesados en los estudios latinoamericanos, tanto para los jóvenes investigadores como para especialistas y lectores en general, este trabajo aspira a mostrar las transformaciones de un campo y dimensionar, al mismo tiempo, el aporte de América Latina a la crítica literaria y cultural.

El Diccionario histórico de la lengua española (DHLE) es un diccionario nativo digital que persigue describir en su integridad (en el eje diatópico, diastrático y cronológico) la historia del léxico de la lengua española. Una característica definitoria de este repertorio radica en su voluntad de analizar la historia del léxico en una perspectiva relacional, atendiendo a los vínculos etimológicos, morfológicos y semánticos que se establecen entre las palabras.

El Corpus Diacrónico del Español (CORDE) es un corpus textual de todas las épocas y lugares en que se habló español, desde los inicios del idioma hasta el año 1974, en que limita con el Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA). El CORDE está diseñado para extraer información con la cual estudiar las palabras y sus significados, así como la gramática y su uso a través del tiempo.

AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. AILLA's mission is to preserve these materials and make them available to Indigenous Peoples, researchers, and other friends of these languages now and for generations to come.

Corpus divided into five categories: Genre/Historical; Web/Dialects; NOW (2021-2019); Google Books n-grams; WordAndPhrase. Funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Provides links to associations, conferences, publishers, and publications relating to Hispanic Studies.

Very useful guide to essential resources for medievalists working in the field of Hispanic studies.

Una colección digital de los primeros libros impresos en las Américas antes de 1601 e información sobre dónde se encuentra cada una hoy en día.

The objective of Iberian Books is to produce a foundational listing of all books published in Spain, Portugal and the New World or printed elsewhere in Spanish or Portuguese during the Golden Age (1472-1700).

The Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos hasta 1851 (CCILA) is an ongoing effort to catalog the printed heritage of Latin America and the Philippines before 1851. As a bibliography, it provides a census of surviving works. As a union catalog, CCILA will list institutional holdings for those works and will endeavor to identify microfilm and digital surrogates. It is a large-scale cooperative effort, designed to involve every library in Europe, the Americas, or the Philippines possessing relevant materials.

This research guide from the Hispanic Division at the Library of Congress focuses on 20th and 21st century court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on civil rights in Chicana/o/x, Hispanic, Latina/o/x, Mexican-American, and Puerto Rican communities the United States. Each page provides an overview and timeline of a civil rights topic and some breadth of research material for further study at the Library of Congress or your local library. The facts presented draw from Library of Congress materials and external sources listed.

Latinx Talk is an online, interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, and moderated forum for the circulation and discussion of original research, commentary, and creative work in brief and diverse formats such as essays (500-2000 words), multimedia presentations, podcasts, and short video. We believe in providing a space for Chicanx and Latinx Studies ideas, research, and creativity that may foster critical dialogues. As a forum, we host conversations on important topics and publish single-author or collaborative work. We welcome reader’s comments on the site.