What are open-access resources?
Open-access resources, or recursos de acceso abierto, are research materials that are freely available online, no subscription required. Many journals in Latin America have adopted an open-access format and many journals in North America and Europe are moving in this direction as well. Awareness of open-access resources can help you go beyond our collections at UK and incorporate additional materials into your research.
Hispanic Studies Open-Access Resources
Primary Sources
- SALALM - LATIN AMERICAN & CARIBBEAN DIGITAL PRIMARY RESOURCESDatabase of links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title.
- Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources (LACLI)Searchable spreadsheet of free online resources for Hispanic Studies.
- Biblioteca Hispánica Digital (BNE)La Biblioteca Digital Hispánica es la biblioteca digital de la Biblioteca Nacional de España. Proporciona acceso libre y gratuito a miles de documentos digitalizados, entre los que se cuentan libros impresos entre los siglos XV y XX, manuscritos, dibujos, grabados, folletos, carteles, fotografías, mapas, atlas, partituras, prensa histórica y grabaciones sonoras.
- Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional de España)Proporciona acceso público a la colección digital de las revistas y prensa histórica española que alberga la Biblioteca, con una colección inicial compuesta por 143 títulos de prensa y revistas.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical, and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio IberoamericanoLa Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI) es un proyecto impulsado por la Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA) que tiene como objetivo la creación de un portal que permita el acceso desde un único punto de consulta a los recursos digitales de todas las Bibliotecas participantes.
- Cultural Magazines of Latin AmericaThis collection contains retrodigitized cultural magazines from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Peru and Puerto Rico dating back to the period between 1880 and 1930.
- Género en MéxicoEl sitio reúne y ofrece en acceso abierto fuentes para la historia de las mujeres en México. Se trata de una selección de materiales documentales impresos (o enlaces a documentos electrónicos), publicado dentro o fuera de México, durante los siglos XIX y XX, de autoría individual o colectiva (instituciones públicas o privadas). Contiene información en torno a la actividad política, cultural, institucional o activista de las mujeres.
- Chicana por mi razaChicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. The overarching objective of the project is to provide broad‐based public access to oral histories, material culture, correspondence, and rare out‐of‐print publications for use in both scholarly research and the classroom. The online digital repository currently contains approximately 7,000 available digital records and over 500 interview clips.
- HISPANAHispana reúne las colecciones digitales de archivos, bibliotecas y museos españoles. Acceso a todo tipo de materiales (manuscritos, libros impresos, fotografías, mapas...) del patrimonio bibliográfico español.
- The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)A collection of pictorial holdings on Latin America from the 19th and 20th centuries including iconography, scrapbooks, depictions of Mayan architecture and scultpures, archeological photographs, and plate illustrations.
- Clasicos en la Biblioteca Nacional (Classics in the National Library of Spain)A collection of digitized texts of important Spanish authors.
- Biblioteca Ayacucho en Acceso AbiertoAcceso abierto a documentos relativos a América Latina y el Caribe.
- Documents of Latin American and Latino Art (ICAA)Explore over 8,000 documents of 20th and 21st-century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among U.S. Latino communities.
- Celebrating Cuba Collection (DLoC)Open access to digital collections that celebrate Cuban patrimony. Includes maps, legal materials, and monographs, as well as journals and newspapers.
- Open Iberia/AméricaOpen Iberia/América is an online Open Access collection of short pedagogical edition/translations of premodern Iberian and Latin American texts modeled after the editorial practices of commercial anthologies.
- Biblioteca Virtual de PolígrafosLa Fundación se propone, a partir de una idea de Menéndez Pelayo, creador del término polígrafo en el sentido que se emplea aquí, hacer accesible el pensamiento de polígrafos españoles, portugueses, brasileños e hispanoamericanos reuniendo digitalmente su obra. El proyecto se realiza en algunas de sus partes mediante la colaboración con otras instituciones.
Secondary Sources
- DialnetThis is a virtual library of Spanish academic journals covering more than 5,000 journals and 2.1 million documents. Subjects covered include the sciences, social sciences and the humanities and arts. It is particularly useful for subjects related to Spain, such as history and Islamic studies. English language search is available. Coverage is 1980 to the present.
- CLACSO - Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias SocialesRepository of Latin American and Caribbean libraries providing open access to academic articles, thesis, presentations, working papers, and multi-media sources.
- Diccionario Biográfico Electrónico (Real Academia de la Historia)El Diccionario Biográfico electrónico (DB~e) de la Real Academia de la Historia es un entorno digital para acceder a la mayor base de datos de contenidos sobre personajes de la historia de España, un inmenso caudal de información dispuesto por vez primera en soporte electrónico.
- Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO)FLACSO is one of Latin America’s foremost academic networks with 10 national centers throughout the region. Created by a UNESCO initiative in 1957, FLACSO is dedicated to promoting and supporting social sciences study and research.
- El Colegio de México (JSTOR)680 scholarly books and 8 scholarly journals published by El Colegio de México, one of the most important academic research centers in the world.
- CLACSO (JSTOR)Over 200 titles published by CLACSO
- BiblioQuinoaBiblioQuinoa es la Biblioteca Digital de pueblos originarios. Contamos con cientos de libros y videos de las mejores editoriales de Chile y Latinoamérica. Hay que crear una cuenta gratis para poder acceder al contenido.
- RedalycOpen-access repository of journals from 15 Latin American countries, with over 550 titles and 16,000 articles available in PDF format, along with abstracts in Spanish and English, reference information and other metadata. With the support of la Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, Redalyc offers its material for free to download under a Creative Commons license.
- Antologías del Pensamiento Social Latinoamericano y CaribeñoUn emprendimiento editorial de CLACSO destinado a promover el acceso a la obra de algunos de los más destacados autores de las ciencias sociales de América Latina y el Caribe.
- Biblioteca Cuba en RevoluciónAcceso abierto a 60 libros y más de 300 autores que reflexionan, interpretan y construyen sentidos en torno a la Revolución cubana.
- Latin America Digital Beat (LADB)The LADB archive includes a searchable database of over 28,000 articles drawn from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals. LADB's journalists collected Spanish language source material from Latin America and published weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments.
Indexes
- SciELOSciELO is a bibliographic database of open access journals and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in developing countries, originally from Brazil.
- CLASE - Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y HumanidadesMore than 350,000 bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, literature reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1500 journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
- LARRP - Latin Americanist Research Resources ProjectLARRP provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area's major languages.
- Portal de Archivos Españoles (PARES)An unparalleled digital resource for the study of colonial Spanish America. Provides access to the holdings of various Spanish archives. Millions of page images are freely downloadable; copies of other items identified but not digitized can be requested through the site. Includes holdings from a number of provincial archives, the archives of the Spanish Civil War, and the famous Archivo de Indias.
- Portal de Portales LatindexA "portal of portals" to index and full text academic journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal designed and maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónmoma de México.
General Open-Access Resources
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryOur membership in HathiTrust provides UK affiliates the benefit of being able to download the full-text PDF of public domain titles. (Without a membership you are limited to a page.) To do so, users must log-in at the HathiTrust site with current linkblue credentials. UK affiliates can also search copyrighted works, but the full-text of the work is not available for full-text viewing. However, the ability to search over 16.8 million volumes will allow you to identify useful titles.
- JSTOR Open ContentExplore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
- Project Muse: Open Access on MuseProject MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
- Internet Archive (Archive.org)Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- SIGLA (States and Institutions of Governance in Latin America)SIGLA is an online multilingual database that freely provides information on legal and political institutions in Latin America. By democratizing access to these data, SIGLA facilitates the generation of knowledge and increases the transparency of governance in the region.
- Political Database of the Americas (PDBA)PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
- OpenEditionOpenEdition brings together four platforms dedicated to electronic resources and academic information in the humanities and social sciences.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Provides access to over 2,200 free, full-text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects and languages.
- OAPEN LibraryThe OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.
