Library Liaison Professional Development Toolkit

UK liaison librarians routinely respond to questions from students and faculty about information sources and access, ranging from the simple to the complex. Liaisons report having the most challenges with answering questions about statistical software, systematic reviews, data issues, and bibliometrics/research impact. 

1. Consider starting with ACRL's Keeping Up With series, which includes concise overviews of current topics.
2. Visit the ACRL YouTube channel for free recordings of past webinars (or sign up for upcoming webinars). 
3. Individual or team training. Reach out to your liaison team facilitator if you want more training. They may want to reach out to the Coordinator of Liaison Services to request training for all liaisons.
4. Q&A bank. LibAnswers, the SpringShare product for chat and email reference questions, contains answers to previously answered questions. Log into LibApps or ask Stacey Greenwell or Cindi Blyberg for a LibApps account.

Baseline Knowledge

• Keeping Up With Statistical Literacy (ACRL, free)
• Sage Research Methods. Search for SPSS, STATA, etc. (UKL database with eBooks, eVideos, etc)
• SkillType includes professional development resources on statistical software. (Library employees have access via UK subscription.) Links to both free and fee-based options.
• SPSS tutorials (Kent State University Libraries, free)
• SPSS tutorial (University of Illinois Library, free)
• STATA YouTube channel (StataCorp LLC, free)

Advanced Knowledge 

• Coursera courses on SPSS, SAP, and data science (courses are free, but may have to pay $ if you want a certificate of completion)
• Working with SPSS, by Barton Poulson (practical, visual, non-mathematical approach to SPSS, free)

Baseline Knowledge

• Keeping Up With Systematic Literature Reviews (ACRL, free)
• Sage Research Methods. Search for systematic reviews, evidence synthesis (UKL database with links to eBooks, eVideos)
• SkillType includes professional development resources on systematic reviews (Library employees have access through UK subscription). Links to both free and fee-based opportunities.
• UK Medical Center Library's Research Workshop Series recordings include systematic review workshops (new workshops offered every semester, free)

Advanced Knowledge 

• Library Evidence Synthesis Services Symposium (LESSS) (online, free) - 2024 recordings (multiple videos 1-hr each)
• Evidence Synthesis Institute. 3-day training from University of Minnesota, focus on disciplines outside of medicine and health (online and in person, free, offered 1-3 times/yr). Recently created an online Evidence Synthesis for Librarians and Information Specialists course with Carnegie Mellon University. (available free for a limited time)
• Medical Library Association (MLA) ($)
  • Systematic Review Services Specialization. Levels I and II offered ($$$)
  • MEDLIB-ED Individual online webinars also offered on all stages of the systematic review process ($)
• Cochrane Handbook of Systematic Reviews of Interventions (open access)
• JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis (open access)

Baseline knowledge

• Keeping Up With... Research Data Management (ACRL, free)
• SkillType includes professional development resources on data issues (Library employees have access through UK subscription). Links to both free and fee-based opportunities.
• Sage Research Methods. Search for datasets, data management (UKL database with eBooks, eVideos)
• UK Medical Center Library's Research Workshop Series recordings include data management workshops (new workshops offered every semester, free)

Advanced knowledge 

• Data Literacy for Librarians. Foundational data literacy competencies. (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, free) 
• Medical Library Association (MLA) ($)
  • Data Services Specialization. Levels I and II offered. ($$$)
  • MEDLIB-ED Individual online webinars also offered on data management ($)
• ACRL Roadshow. Roadshows on data management offered in-person and virtually. (UKL hosted the in-person roadshow in 2020.) ($$$$)

Baseline knowledge:

• Keeping Up With... Altmetrics (ACRL, free)
• Sage Research Methods. Search for bibliometrics, research impact, etc. (UKL database with eBooks, eVideos)
• SkillType includes professional development resources on research impact (Library employees have access through UK subscription). Links to both free and fee-based opportunities.
• UK Medical Center Library. Research Impact Metrics LibGuide and Research Workshop Series recordings include research impact workshops.

Advanced knowledge:

• National Institutes of Health Introduction to Bibliometrics series and National Institutes of Health Bibliometrics & Research Assessment Symposium 2020 recordings available (free)

Baseline knowledge:

• MCL EndNote Libguide 
• EndNote: vendor Libguide with step-by-step instructions for setup, recorded and live trainings and demos (FREE)
• EndNote 8-part webinar series: live training that covers baseline to advanced features, requires registration (FREE)
• Group Training: Clarivate provides online, synchronous baseline training as part of our university subscription to EndNote. Look for these training invites throughout the year, 1-hour (FREE)

Advanced knowledge:

• EndNote 8-part webinar series: live training that covers baseline to advanced features, requires registration (FREE)
• Group Training: Clarivate provides online, synchronous advanced training as part of our university subscription to EndNote. Look for these training invites throughout the year, 1-hour (FREE)

General

• Coordinator of Liaison Services
• Coordinator of Reference Services

Statistical software

• The Stacks: Digital Scholarship Center
• UK Applied Statistics Lab - assistance with statistical, analytic, and data science questions

Systematic reviews

• Contact the Health Sciences Team, the Social Sciences Team, or the STEM Team with questions about systematic reviews, or about their training recommendations. 
• Attend the Systematic Review Cohort meetings (held once a semester) -- meeting invites sent to ALL-LIB

Data issues

• Research Data Librarian

Bibliometrics/research impact

• Research Analytics, Office of the Vice President for Research