Sociology Research - Best Bets
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes and abstracts, articles from scholarly journals covering sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, social psychology, and urban studies
- Sociological CollectionIndexing full-text articles from 500+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1975 in all areas of sociology including social behavior, relationships and social structure. Updated daily.
- ProQuest Sociology DatabaseIncludes over 500 titles, with more than 300 available in full-text. Coverage includes anthropology, sociology, social work, political science, policy studies, communication, education, criminology, demography and economics.
Criminal Justice Research
- Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)Indexing, abstracting, and selective full-text of research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Coverage includes U.S. and international scholarly journals; corrections and correctional and law enforcement trade publications; and reports, news, crime statistics, and crime blogs.
Googling Gray Literature Sources
Include your topic keywords, along with the word research report. Consider limiting to .org or .gov domain. Consider limiting to PDF filetype
Example: community violence research report site:.org filetype:pdf
Gray Literature from Organizations, Advocacy Groups, and Think Tanks
- Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of 1,200+ think tanks and research centers from advocacy groups, governments, universities, and non-governmental organizations. Partisan and non-partisan think tanks are included.
Conference Presentations (Gray Literature)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - ScienceIndexes the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide, including citation searching.
- F1000 ResearchArticles and other research outputs reporting basic scientific, scholarly, translational and clinical research across the physical and life sciences, engineering, medicine, social sciences and humanities
Understanding Journal Articles
- How to Read a Social Science Journal ArticleGuide from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
- How to Read a Scientific StudyA (mostly) visual guide to types of studies and an explanation of the parts of a journal article.
- How to Read a Sociological Journal Article for BeginnersFrom the Everyday Sociology blog.
- Strategies for Reading an Academic JournalVisual guide from the blog of the American Association of School Librarians.
Additional Databases
- Social Science Premium CollectionThis collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
- Social Science DatabaseIncludes over 500 titles, with more than 300 available in full-text. Coverage includes anthropology, sociology, social work, political science, policy studies, communication, education, criminology, demography and economics.
- PsycINFOProvides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books, and dissertations in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
- America: History and LifeThe premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users
Sociology Librarian
Graduate Student Library Research Course
- Open Academic ResearchA self-paced library research Canvas course designed to help you lay the groundwork for a career in academic research. Choose your own modules and work at your own pace.