It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases are the best places to start finding academic research articles for a theatre research paper assignment. You can search the databases by keyword, and the search results will give you a list of articles with their authors, titles, and the names of the journals they appear in.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Library subscription video sites to search for performances
From Shakespeare and Greek tragedy to contemporary literary adaptations, NTC features productions from the National Theatre, as well as the Young Vic, Donmar Warehouse, and Bridge Theatre. Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NTs Archive, this collection currently contains 30 productions.
Twenty-one films recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the theatre for which he wrote.
Includes nine productions from the Globe Theatre, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.
Contains more than 1,100 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth. Includes plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, and temperance dialogues. Major dramatists featured include Clyde Fitch, Augustin Daly, David Belasco, James Herne, and Joaquin Miller.
Full-text database that provides access to over 1,300 plays, including works by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Additionally includes information on related productions, theaters, production companies as well as selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 500 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
Contains 1,530 plays by more than 220 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, and production companies. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
Online resources to explore during the COVID-19 pandemic
Online arts resources in the time of the COVID-19 pandemic
UK Libraries has recently purchased five packages through Drama Online thanks to requests from the CFA Department of Theatre & Dance and the Lucille Caudill Little endowment funds at the Little Fine Arts Library. We are thrilled to offer these to the UK community, particularly in the time of COVID-19.
Our five packages include the National Theatre Collection, two Royal Shakespeare Company packages, and two Shakespeare's Globe packages:
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection launched in September 2019 with 19 films, now contains 24, and will complete with 30 by the end of March 2020.
- Comedies: She Stoops to Conquer, One Man, Two Guvnors, and London Assurance
- 20th century classics: Yerma, The Cherry Orchard, The Deep Blue Sea and Les Blancs
- Shakespeare plays: Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, Macbeth, Julius Caesar, Coriolanus, Twelfth Night, The Winter's Tale and Romeo and Juliet
- Literary adaptations: Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Treasure Island and Peter Pan
- Greek classics: Antigone and Medea
- World historical drama: Dara (Shahid Nadeem’s telling of the dispute that shaped modern-day India and Pakistan in Nadia Fall’s production, originally performed at the Ajoka Theatre in Pakistan)
25 films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company from 2013 to 2019, including the 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale and the recent Twelfth Night starring Adrian Edmondson
30 films recorded live on the Globe stage with actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV, and productions including the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, in 2014
The films here are all rights-cleared for unlimited academic use and can be embedded in Canvas. As well as some feature-length documentaries, there are PBS-type clips and productions and lots of interviews with arts practitioners (directors, visual artists, etc.)
Here are Hyperallergic's 12 selections out of 2,500 world-class museums and galleries that are now offering virtual tours and online collections. - by Hakim Bishara, March 16, 2020
Open Educational Resources (OER) & open textbooks
Mason OER Metafinder
Real-time search engine (not a static database) of OER resources, created by George Mason University
Free resource for the study of art history created by art historians Beth Harris and Steven Zucker. Smarthistory is an independent not-for-profit organization and the official partner to Khan Academy for art history.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies telling the story of art and global culture through the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection.
Art + Design Online
Digital collections + websites of art, architecture + design images, books, films, photography + more
Introduction to Scholarly Articles intended for students who are new to scholarly research.
Getting the Articles Themselves
Once you have found a list of citations for articles on your topic in the databases, how do you get the articles themselves?
Sometimes the full text of the article is already attached to the database citation, as a PDF or HTML file. (Yay!) If so, just click to open, save, or print it!
More often, the databases provide the citation only, telling you where to find the articles. Check InfoKat to see if UK Libraries has the periodical in our collection and if we have the issue or date you need. (Search by the title of the journal or magazine, not the title of the specific article.)
If our library does have the title and issue/date you need, we might have it online, in hard copy/print, or both. Click through from the InfoKat record for online versions, or for print versions, go to the shelf at the library to find and scan a copy of the article for yourself.
If UK does not collect the magazine or journal you need, or we do not have access to the issue or date you need, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). UK Libraries will request a scan from another library and then forward it on to you.
If you see a "View Now UK" button in a database, clicking it can often provide a shortcut to a journal's website, so it is worth trying, but it is often faster and always more accurate to check InfoKat to see if our library provides access to a periodical you need.