Off-campus Access to Library Resources
- Off-Campus AccessCurrent UK students, faculty, voluntary faculty, and staff can use their linkblue login to access UK Libraries’ electronic resources from off campus.
Manage Your References
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Journal Tools
- CASSINeed help finding an ACS journal abbreviation? Look in CASSI to find the correct abbreviation.
Research Databases
This is a small selection of the databases available through UK Libraries for biological research.
- Agricola Citations and abstracts of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the life sciences relating to plants, animals, environment, etc.
- BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM Journal indexing and abstracting for the journal literature covering biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science.
- CAB Abstracts (CABI) with Full Text Agricultural and applied life sciences resources, with emphasis on agronomy, forestry, public health, environmental issues, and the management of natural resources. Particular attention is paid to the needs of developing countries.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information The National Center for Biotechnology Information includes a variety of databases covering biology, biomedicine, genomes, homology, and taxonomy.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracting of science and technology research, including full-text journals and detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky) This MedLine version includes citations and abstracts on such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and preclinical sciences), nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health.
- Scopus Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-current ), Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), and Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-current).
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Indexes the literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, eco-tourism, zoology, taxonomy.
General Databases
These databases aren't specific to any discipline, but they contain a variety of useful resources:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Magazine, journal, and newspaper articles on a variety of topics useful for many undergraduate courses
- Access World News Articles from regional, national and international newspapers and other news sources. Includes Lexington Herald Leader.
- Nexis Uni Our largest database for regional, national and international news from newspapers and other news sources.
- InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog Advanced Search Books & other materials owned by UK Libraries.
- E-Journals A-Z E-Journals available online from the University of Kentucky Libraries
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) Materials owned by UK Libraries and other libraries. Good for checking citations before requesting books from Interlibrary Loan.