Kentucky Newspapers
- Kentucky Digital Newspaper ProgramThe Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program (KDNP) has historic and contemporary newspapers from across the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The contemporary newspaper collections are powered by PaperVault; a born-digital newspaper gateway developed at the University of Kentucky Libraries. The African American newspaper titles include issues of American Baptist, The Examiner, Lexington Standard, Lexington Weekly News, The Reporter, and True American.
- Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program also at Internet ArchiveA better searching experience with KDNP than other options.
University of Kentucky Access
- 19th Century U.S. NewspapersThere are several anti-slavery newspapers as well as African American published newspapers herein, but these titles are not easily identified. African American titles: The North Star titles (1847-1851), New York Age titles (1883-1892), the Northwestern Recorder titles (1892-1893), Afro-American (Baltimore, MD) (1893-1898), Emancipator & Republican (1848-1890), Liberator (1831-1865), and Leavenworth Herald (1858, 1894-1898). Gale Cengage Learning.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Featuring 270 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable.
- African American Newspapers (from Accessible Archives)Nineteenth century Newspaper Collection. Includes
The Christian Recorder
The Colored American/Weekly Advocate
Frederick Douglass’ Paper
Freedom’s Journal
The National Era
The North Star
Provincial Freeman - Ancestry Library EditionWithin this database is a collection of over 200 African American newspapers available full-text. The collection can be found in the Ancestry card catalog with the name "U.S., African American Newspapers, 1829-1947." The newspaper titles are also available to those who have a personal subscription to Ancestry.com.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers Combined SearchIncludes more recent issues of African American newspapers.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive[1800s] Includes 130 newspaper and periodical titles in reference to slavery. Gale Cengage Learning.
Historical Collections
- California Eagle [1924-1963]Oldest African-American newspaper in the U.S. West, published from 1879-1964. Available at Internet Archive Web. (free)
- Chronicling America - African American Newspapers [1800s-1922]Scanned newspaper pages (includes newspapers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia). (free)
- Freedom's Journal [1827-1829]Access to 103 issues of the publication (available at the bottom of the webpage). Provided by the Wisconsin Historical Society. (free)
- Historical African American Newspapers Available Online - Marist College LibraryHistorical African American newspapers available online with free content.
- Indianapolis Recorder [1897-present]After death of co-founder, G. P. Stewart, his wife, Kentucky native Fannie B. C. Stewart, took over as the newspaper manager. Provided by IUPUI Program of Digital Scholarship [Missing issues: 1917-1925, and January-April of 1932]. (free)
- St. Louis Palladium [1904]Part of the Missouri Digital Heritage Collection. The St. Louis Palladium was published by Kentucky native John W. Wheeler. (free)
- The Provincial Freeman [1853-1857]A Canadian weekly newspaper founded by African American Mary Ann Shadd. Published from 1853 through 1857. {New site is under construction.]
- University of Detroit Mercy Black Abolitionist Digital Archive [1820-1890s]Includes selected speeches and editorials from abolitionist newspapers. (free)
Contemporary Collections
- Black Panther Newspaper Collection [1966-1969]A few issues of the publication at the Internet Archive Website. (free)
- BlackNews.comListing of all weekly and daily African American newspapers. (free)
- BlackPressUSA.comJoint web presence of America’s Black community newspapers and the NNPA News Service. (free)