Kentucky Newspaper
Kentucky Irish American
Founded by William M. Higgins (1852-1925), a typesetter who had moved to Louisville from Syracuse, New York, the Kentucky Irish American was initially devoted to the defense and advancement of the community it served. The first issue was published on July 4, 1898. The full-text of available issues are online at Chronicling America and online at Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program.
University of Kentucky Access
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive Backfile
This link opens in a new window
Includes Hibernian Journal or Chronicle of Liberty, George Faulkner the Dublin Journal, Dublin Mercury (1722), Dublin Gazette, Flying Post, Faithful Scout, and Irish Monthly Mercury. Gale Cengage Learning. - 19th Century British Library Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Belfast News-letter and Public Register or the Freeman's Journal from Dublin. Gale Cengage Learning. - Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- This link opens in a new window
Includes extracts from the Press, a newspaper published in the capital of Ireland during part of the years 1797 and 1798, which were suppressed by order of the Irish government before the usual time of publication. Readex / NewsBank. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Includes six titles from Ireland and Northern Ireland. - ProQuest News and Newspapers Combined Search
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more recent issues of the Boston Irish Reporter and Irish Voice.
Historical Collections
- Chronicling America - Irish Newspaper [1800s-1922]Currently one title - Kentucky Irish American. (free)
- Joseph McGarrity Newspapers [1800s-1920s]Includes Irish and Irish-American publications. Provided by Villanova University Digital Library. (free)
- The Irish Times [1859-present]Archive has both irishtimes.com and The Irish Times newspaper archives. (free)
- Views of the Famine by Steve TaylorSelected articles and illustrations from the Illustrated London News, the Cork Examiner, the Pictorial Times, Punch, and a pamphlet by Lord Dufferin and the Honorable G.G. Boyle. (free)
Contemporary Collections
- Belfast Telegraph Article Archive [2006-present]Northern Irish daily newspaper. (free)
- Galway Advertiser Archive [1970-2010]News, sports, and opinions. (free)
- Irish Echo Archive [2009-present]The only Irish newspaper in the Asia Pacific region. (free)
- Irish NewspapersIncludes titles with archive of recent issues. Provided by onlinenewspapers.com (free).
- Newspapers in IrelandOnline editions of current newspapers in Ireland. Provided by onlinenewsagent. (free)
- Saoirse - Irish Freedom [1987-2003]Monthly newspaper of the Irish political party Republican Sinn Féin. Provided by IUPUI University Library. (free)