UK Collections
-
BrowZine Provides access to the scholarly journal content available through the University of Kentucky Libraries, providing an easy and familiar way to browse, read, save and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.
-
InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog Advanced Search Search the full InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog combining terms in different fields (e.g., title, subject, date, language).
Welcome!
This guide is intended to help with locating published research in the field of physics & astronomy. The majority of the print collection is housed at the Science & Engineering Library and the William T. Young Library. Below are links to several databases relevant to the field when searching for articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. The Finding Resources tab assists with locating journals, books, dissertations and other library resources.
For further assistance with any of these tools, tailored research help, or EndNote training, feel free to contact me by email at vperry@uky.edu or the STEM Library Team. Recommendations of resources that should be added to this guide are appreciated.
Research Databases
-
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
-
Scitation Database of physical science resources covering physics, astronomy, and related fields of science and technology. Provides indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. Includes Advance Abstracts for AIP journals and links to Physical Review journals before the articles are published.
-
NIST Physics Portal Physics research at NIST includes everything from improving the safety of medical radiation procedures to developing future "quantum information" technologies that generate unbreakable codes. NIST provides the measurements, standards, and technical expertise scientists and industries need to push the limits of the fundamental properties of nature.
-
Astrophysics Data System (NASA/SAO) The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
Additional Databases
-
Compendex This link opens in a new window Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
-
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
-
IEEE Xplore The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
-
MathSciNet (AMS) Covers worldwide mathematical literature by providing bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. Includes indexing for journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research. Approximately 1800 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
-
Scopus Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
Preprints and E-Prints
-
ArXiv e-Print archive Electronic pre-print distribution service for the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Papers are provided by the authors on a voluntary basis. Users can also register to automatically receive a listing of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them, when papers are received in those areas.
Technical Reports
-
govinfo: access to publications of the federal government govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
-
OSTI (Office for Scientifc and Technical Information) OSTI provides access to DOE STI (Scientific & Technical Information) both unclassified and classified, through a suite of web-based, searchable discovery tools and through other commonly used search engines, offering ever-expanding sources of R&D information to DOE, the research community, and the science-attentive public.
-
Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program (NASA) Lists citations and abstracts of NASA and worldwide aerospace-related research, highlighting the most recent additions to the NASA scientific and technical information knowledge base.
-
NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service) Provides indexing to U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.
STEM Librarian
Research Guides for the Sciences
See a list of all research guides.