Finding a Book on the Shelf
How to Find a Book on the Shelf provides a brief, basic overview of Library of Congress call numbers, provides practice putting them in order, and explains how to find a book in Young Library.
Navigating Young Library
Navigating Young Library shows the services, collections, technology, and other amenities available on each floor of the library.
Browsing the Collection - must customize
 |
One way to get started with your topic is to browse the library's collection, either physically (or virtually via InfoKat). Much (though perhaps not all) of the information on your topic will be in the Z Library of Congress call number range. This guide breaks down that classification into specific call numbers for subjects such as circulation, library buildings, collections, etc. |
Recent E-Book Acquisitions - must customize
Many of you are participating in the program remotely, so your librarian has been focusing on purchasing more e-books that you can access anywhere. Below are some new acquisitions as of March 2023. If you have suggestions for book purchases, please let your librarian know!
-
Creativity
by
ISBN: 9780838937778Publication Date: 2021Use creativity to create change in your library! Creativity is the ability to produce a product or idea that is both new and appropriate in a given context, and is essential for innovation, change, and employee satisfaction. Creativity is inherently human, a transferable skill that can be developed and that can improve an individual's personal and professional life regardless of their level of artistic ability, education, or experience. -
Handbook of Research on Mixed Methods Research in Information Science
by
ISBN: 9781799888475Publication Date: 2021Mixed methods research is becoming prevalent in many fields, yet little has been done to elevate mixed methods research in information science. A comprehensive picture of information science and its problems is needed to further understand and address the issues associated with it as well as how mixed methods research can be adapted and used. The Handbook of Research on Mixed Methods Research in Information Science discusses the quality of mixed methods studies and methodological transparency, sampling in mixed methods research, and the application of theory in mixed methods research throughout various contexts. -
Information Services Today
by
ISBN: 9781538156698Publication Date: 2022This third edition of Information Services Today: An Introduction demonstrates the ever-changing landscape of information services today and the need to re-evaluate curriculum, competency training, professional development, and lifelong learning in order to stay abreast of current trends and issues, and more significantly, remain competent to address the changing user needs of information communities. -
Approaches to Liaison Librarianship
by
ISBN: 9780838948545Publication Date: 2021Liaison librarianship is a well-established system for framing the work and organizational structures of an academic library to effectively meet the needs of faculty and students. But despite its rich history, the precise meaning of liaison librarianship remains somewhat fluid--the size and nature of an academic institution, the library's financial and human resources, and the diversity and size of local programs are only some of the variables that librarians must take into consideration when evaluating a specific liaison model for their library, how to implement it, and how its success will be assessed. -
Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science
by
ISBN: 9781003129219Publication Date: 2021Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science presents a range of case studies that have successfully implemented social justice as a designed strategy to generate community-wide changes and social impact. Each chapter in the collection presents innovative practices that are strategized as intentional, deliberate, systematic, outcome-based, and impact-driven. -
Transformative Library and Information Work
by
ISBN: 9780081030127Publication Date: 2020Intended to be an accessible guide to transformational information work, the book collects approximately thirty brief case studies of information related organizations, initiatives, and/or projects that focus on social justice related activities. Each case is a short narrative account of its particular subject's history, objectives, accomplishments, and challenges faced. It also describes the material realities involved in the subjects' day-to-day operation. Furthermore, cases include pertinent excerpts from interviews conducted with individuals directly involved with the information organization and will conclude with three-to-five bulleted takeaway points for information workers to consider when developing their own praxis. -
Knowledge Justice
by
ISBN: 0262043505Publication Date: 2021Black, Indigenous, and Peoples of Color--reimagine library and information science through the lens of critical race theory. In Knowledge Justice, Black, Indigenous, and Peoples of Color scholars use critical race theory (CRT) to challenge the foundational principles, values, and assumptions of Library and Information Science and Studies (LIS) in the United States.
WorldCat.Org
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.
Questions? Just ask us.