Databases - must customize
|
Below are two primary databases you'll use for research in library science at UK, though you'll want to consult others based upon your topic. This page also includes additional databases below for you to consider, or you might look through all database subscriptions at UK, though keep in mind we have well over 700! |
 |
-
Library Literature and Information Science Full TextCover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, and preservation of materials. Please note: Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
-
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)Provides abstracting and indexing coverage on, for example, librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management in more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings.
Find Other Databases
UK subscribes to over 700 databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find some relevant articles in Academic Search Ultimate, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest. Research Guides provide the key databases in every discipline plus relevant reference books and other library resources related to the subject.
Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s). From the library's main website, you can also choose the Databases tab on the search box and find a drop down box of the most frequently used databases at UK.
Search our A-Z Databases list
UK subscribes to hundreds of databases in a variety of disciplines. Research Guides provide the key databases in many disciplines plus other relevant library resources related to the subject.
You can search directly for databases below. See the main search page for additional browsing options.
Academic Search Ultimate Search Results
This clickable image is focused on Academic Search Ultimate search results and provides pop-ups explaining each important element.
How to Read a Search Result
This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of a search result from Academic Search Ultimate.
New York Times
Interested in accessing the New York Times online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below with the first link, and use the second link to access it after registering.
-
New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.
EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID subscriptions or PAID ADD-ONS like Cooking, Games/crosswords, or The Athletic need to cancel their subscription by clicking here or calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account. Once the subscription is canceled, they can visit accessnyt.com, type in University of Kentucky, and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber “Already has an account " they click “Log In" (found below "Create an Account"). Input your email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.
EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscriptions can visit accessnyt.com, type in the name of the school, and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber "Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com. -
New York Times Digital Edition (Registered Users)Once you have registered for an account through the new user link, you have an basic digital access subscription to the New York Times through the University of Kentucky. This subscription includes unlimited access on NYTimes.com, archives (dating back to 1851) (5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day); augmented reality/virtual reality (found in the App), daily 360 content, podcasts, all multimedia, newsletters, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com, and unlimited access to The New York Times in Education website and The Learning Network.
Wall Street Journal
Interested in accessing the Wall Street Journal online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below and use the link for access.
-
Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
Browse Journals
Want to browse journals much like you would view them on a bookshelf? Learn more about Browzine in order to do that and more!
Instructions for Setting Up Google Scholar to Link to UK Full-text Holdings
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.
Scholarly/Peer Review
Learn how to identify the characteristics of scholarly articles in Introduction to Scholarly Articles in this six minute tutorial.
