Storage Guide of Reusable Content

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.

If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.

Have questions? Ask Us for help.

For materials that UK does not own, Interlibrary Loan is a great service for you to be familiar with. See the Interlibrary Loan page for information about what ILL is and how to request materials.

The Using the View Now Button animation explains what this button is and how to use it when you come across it in library databases.

Boolean Operators are a great way for you to broaden, narrow, and refine your search results. This Boolean Operators animation illustrates what each operator does.

Unfortunately, the LibX Browser Extension is no longer being actively developed and, while pervious installations may continue to work, it is no longer available for new users to install.  One of the best features of LibX was the ability for us to configure a version that would allow users to reload a web page using the UK Libraries proxy settings, providing access to articles and resources paid for by UK Libraries.  UK Libraries is providing a new bookmarklet for that same functionality.  To add the bookmarklet to your browser, drag the button below to your bookmark bar:

(If your browser's bookmark bar is not visible, you will have to make it visible.)  To use this new tool, simply click on the bookmark ("Reload via UK") whenever you are visiting a web page for a library resource that you found through Google rather than by visiting our page.  That will reload the page with our proxy string, prompting you to log in with linkblue, if you’re not logged in already, and giving you access to the resource. 

Note that the bookmarklet may not work for some resources or with some browsers.  The tool will only provide access to resources we have license to access.  You may also want to consider installing Kopernio, which is another browser extension designed to facilitate access to library resources.  

EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and UK Libraries' subscriptions to find the best available paper for you. LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click complement one another. We recommend installing both to your browser.

Link to step-by-step written instructions

LibKey Nomad consults the UK Libraries holdings data to know if and where an article is available. You can install LibKey Nomad to your browser and access library collections (articles, journals, etc.) within one click. It even works when off campus.

Link to step-by-step written instructions

Lean Library is a browser extension that provides access to articles, journals, e-books, databases, and more through UK Libraries. It helps you easily access these resources even if you start your search outside of the UK Libraries' website.

Install the browser extension once for an easier, faster way to access licensed information resources. Once downloaded, select the University of Kentucky to start browsing library content wherever you are studying or researching.