Finding Background Information
 |
Start your research by skimming a brief overview of the topic in an online encyclopedia. The short entries in the encyclopedias linked below will give you context on the topic and some dates, people, places, etc. associated with your topic. This background information will help you develop search terms to find articles, books, and other sources related to your topic. |
-
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
-
Oxford ReferenceQuick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics.
Background Research
Conducting Background Research (1:06) is an important part of the overall research process. This quick video will give you tips on how to go about this part of the process.
Find Background Information
Research topics are often formed from a vague or general idea. Background information is used for providing definitions, historical background, or context, and for enlarging your initial idea. Begin with Gale Virtual Reference Library to quickly locate information on your topic or to help you focus your topic idea.
The Research Process
If you need to review the basics steps for conducting scholarly research, from selecting a topic to citing your sources, please visit our Undergraduate Library Research guide.
Developing a Research Topic
Once you have selected an initial topic, the next step is to develop research questions. To begin:
- Write down what you already know or don't know about the topic.
- Using the information you wrote down, develop questions you'd like to answer when doing your research.
- Use probing questions such as why? how? what if? should?
- Avoid questions that can be answered with yes or no.
The one minute video below provides more tips.
Developing Keywords
When you have a topic in mind, it's a good idea to start thinking about words you might use in your search for information related to your topic. The video and tips below provide more information.
Before you can begin searching for information in a print or online resource, you need to identify keywords related to your topic. Key terminology can be found easily by scanning:
- Your initial research questions,
- Encyclopedia and other articles used when conducting background research,
- Bibliographies found at the end of books and articles.
If you are still struggling, then try these suggestions:
- Use a thesaurus to identify synonyms.
- Find pictures related to your topic, then describe the picture.
- Brainstorm keywords with a librarian, your instructor, or a friend.
Selecting Search Terms
This Selecting Search Terms animation is helpful understanding the process of turning your research topic into helpful search terms in our databases.
Current Events / Hot Topics
|
The resources below are excellent places to find content relating to current issues and other popular topics. Not sure how to even get started? Our Undergraduate Library Research Guide may help. |
 |
-
CQ ResearcherCovers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pros/cons, lists of major research and advocacy groups.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextPresents informed, differing views on each side of an issue. Brings balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
-
Access World NewsClick "Hot Topics" on the lower left to find a list of popular topics: current research topics covering key global issues in business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts. and more.
Current News Headlines
Concept Mapping
It may be useful to create a concept map (also known as a mind map) while brainstorming for research topic ideas. A concept map is just a visual representation of information. See examples and tips on concept mapping below.
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries: Concept Mapping and Brainstorming