Skip to main content

* Business: For Graduate Students

This guide contains information on how to do research in the field of business.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.  It provides access to selected databases in the fields of finance, accounting, economics, management, marketing, and public policy.  To use, UK faculty and graduate students must request a WRDS account, available on the front page of the WRDS site.

Create your account here.

Select the University of Kentucky from the pull down menu and select the appropriate option for affiliation type. Use your UK email address, not a gmail or other account. Click the "Register" button.  Within the next day or so, you will  receive an email with further instructions

Graduate Student Survival Guide

UK Libraries has created a general guide to library services and resources called the Graduate Student Survival Guide.

The Research Process

A few books which might be helpful:

Basic Research

Dissertation Research

If you would like to see examples of past dissertations from the University of Kentucky, paper copies are housed on the 5th Floor of WT Young Library in the rotunda and west wing.  They are organized by year and then alphabetically by the author's last name.
Some newer dissertations are submitted electronically - they can be viewed in the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) Database.

You can also look at examples of dissertations from practically all US and Canadian universities (as well as some in Europe) use ProQuest's Dissertations and Theses Global database.

Introduction

As the Academic Liaison for Business and Economics, I am the contact for all masters and PhD students in the Business and Economics departments.  Please bring me your questions regarding library resources or services.  Let me know if you need help with your research or library assignments.  I will be happy to meet with any graduate student in person or communicate via email or phone.

Also, if you are a TA and would like me to speak to your class about library resources, please contact me at phessel@email.uky.edu
OR
fill out the Information Literacy Instruction Request Form.

Research Resources

Research Consultation
If you have a research question or problem that you would like to discuss with me, we can schedule a consultation session.  To schedule a research consult, fill out the following form.

EndNote
EndNote is a citation management software package that can help you keep your research materials organized as you research and write.  Many of our Business and Economics (and other) databases will export citations directly into EndNote.
The software is available though the UK Download page.
More detailed information about Endnote is available here.

Request a Purchase
If there are materials (books, datasets, databases) that you would like to see added to the UK Library collection, please contact me at:

 

phessel@email.uky.edu

 

I am happy to consider any request.

 

Interlibrary Loan
If the University of Kentucky Libraries does not have access to an article or book that you need, our Interlibrary Loan service can usually borrow a copy from another library for you to use.  Information about the service is located here.  If you have not used the service before, click on the "First Time Users" tab.

Datasets

Help Available
If you need help manipulating or analyzing your data, see Information Technology's Statistical Software page.

Datasets Available:  UK Libraries has several sources for datasets in the business and financial areas.  

International Financial Statistics
Officially reported, internationally comparable macroeconomic statistics.

Direction of Trade Statistics
HF1016 .I652b (Ask at Reference Desk)
Provides critical data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners.  It reports total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level.

Contains over 80 geographic data layers from the city's enterprise GIS (updated on a quarterly basis).

Online Sources

Business and Economics Liaison

Peter Hesseldenz's picture
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY 40506-0456

(859) 218-1840

Library Resources for MBA Students