Skip to main content click mapKentucky Wesleyan CollegeMurray State UniversityWestern Kentucky UniversityLouisville Free Public LibraryUniversity of LouisvilleLindsey Wilson CollegeThomas More CollegeNorthern Kentucky UniversityKentucky State Law LibraryKentucky State UniversityUniversity of Kentucky Law LibraryUniversity of KentuckyCentre CollegeEastern Kentucky UniversityUniversity of the CumberlandsUnion CollegeMorehead State UniversityAshland Community & Technical CollegeHazard Community & Technical CollegeKentucky Federal Depository Libraries Information

Kentucky Federal Depository Libraries Information: Louisville Free Public Library

Louisville Free Public Library

Louisville Free Public Library, Louisville, D214
Contact: Claudia Fitch
Email: Claudia.fitch@lfpl.org
Government Documents Department
301 West York Street
Louisville, KY 40203-2257
Documents: (502) 574-1617
Public Service: (502) 574-1611
FAX (502) 574-1657
Congressional District 3

Details, including policies

Type of Library

Public

Library Director

Craig Buthod

Selection Percentage

27%

OCLC Symbol

KLP

KLN Symbol

KLP

KULS Symbol

KYL

Lending Policy

ILL:

The Library will accept Interlibrary Loan requests for documents. The Government Documents Collection is non-circulating, but some of the more popular titles such as health pamphlets and military history have been added to the circulating Dewey collection. Requests for documents in the non-circulating SuDoc collection will be filled if the document is not one that is heavily used for reference service.

Photocopying Service

Paper: Cost per copy 10 cents
Fiche: No charge 

Reference Service

Type of services offered:Information Services staff will assist patrons in using the documents collection. This assistance includes locating a document found in OPAC, using CD-ROM's, and finding information in the documents collection. The staff use the Government Documents Collection to answer reference questions.  Regular workshops are offered on patents and trademarks.

Electronic Services

Staff participate in KY Stats.  Some documents are linked to PURLs in the online catalog.   Links to government documents.

History & Description

Date library became a depository: 1904

Type of designation: Representative

Special collections: Federal census 1790 - present. CIS microfiche collection. ASI non-depository microfiche collection.

Special area(s) emphasized: Statistics, especially those useful to the business community. Congressional publications, laws, CFR.