Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Account Guide for SCRC: Doing Research: Archives Requests

Use this guide to learn how to activate your SCRC Research Account, schedule an appointment, request special collections materials for use in the Breckinridge Research Room, and order digital scans of special collections materials.

NOTICE

We ask that you request materials at least 5 business days in advance to ensure timely retrieval. 

Information Master

Shawn Livingston's picture
Shawn Livingston
Contact:
Special Collection Research Center
216a Margaret I. King Library
University of Kentucky Libraries
40506-0039

859 218-1831

How Do I Find and Request Archives Collections?

STEP 1: VISIT ExploreUK

Search or browse UK SCRC's archives collection guides in our digital archive, ExploreUK

STEP 2: MAKE YOUR SELECTIONS

Once in a collection guide, orange "Select" buttons allow you to request retrieval or photoduplication of SCRC's archives materials. Some of these appear for an entire collection, while some appear for individual folders in a collection.

STEP 2: MAKE YOUR SELECTIONS SCREENSHOT

STEP 3: CLICK THE REQUESTS TAB

Once your selections are made, click the "Request" tab in the top right corner of the guide.

 

STEP 3: CLICK THE REQUEST TAB SCREENSHOT

STEP 4: SCHEDULE RETRIEVAL

Enter any special requests or questions about your selections, then choose the date you plan to use the items in the Breckinridge Research Room.

STEP 4: SCHEDULE RETRIEVAL SCREENSHOT

STEP 5: SUBMIT REQUEST

Click the "Submit Request" button to send your request to our Research Services team for processing.

STEP 5: SUBMIT REQUEST SCREENSHOT

STEP 6: TRACK YOUR REQUEST

That's it! Once you submit your request, you will be taken to your Research Services Account. If you do not have an account, you will be prompted to register. From your account, you can track all of your SCRC requests, from submission to arrival in the Breckinridge Research Room.  

STEP 6: TRACK YOUR REQUEST SCREENSHOT

 

Ready to get started?

Find and make your requests from ExploreUK below!