Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Account Guide for SCRC: Doing Research: Ordering Digital Scans

Use this guide to learn how to activate your SCRC Research Account, schedule an appointment, request special collections materials for use in the Breckinridge Research Room, and order digital scans of special collections materials.

Director of Digital Services, Special Collections Research Center

Profile Photo
Sarah Dorpinghaus
Contact:
Special Collections Research Center, King Library
859-257-3329

How to order digital scans

You can use your Research Account to request digital scans of materials that are sent directly to your account, absolutely free-of-charge.  We can typically guarantee photoduplication of up to about 250 pages (half of a document box) within 2 weeks of your order. When you place your order, be sure to include any file type or resolution specifications needed.

You can order digital scans one of two ways:

Copyright & Use

Disclaimer: The University of Kentucky Libraries Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) provides broad public access to collections as a contribution to education and scholarship. Most content in the digital libraries is protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Use of the materials may also be subject to other legal rights, for example, rights of publicity, privacy rights, or other legal interests. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. As noted, additional permissions may also be required. SCRC does not authorize any use or reproduction whatsoever for commercial purposes.

SCRC makes digital versions of collections accessible in the following situations:

  • They are in the public domain
  • The rights are owned by the holding repository
  • Holding repositories have permission to make them accessible
  • Materials are made accessible for education and research purposes as a legal fair use
  • There are no known restrictions on use

SCRC can digitize a maximum of 10% of a work in copyright.

Researchers should consult with SCRC for information about rights, contacts, and permissions (contact us here). Responsibility for making an independent legal assessment of an item and securing any necessary permissions ultimately rests with those persons wishing to use the item(s).