Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Account Guide for SCRC: Doing Research: Home

Use this guide to learn how to activate your SCRC Research Account, schedule an appointment, request special collections materials for use in the Breckinridge Research Room, and order digital scans of special collections materials.

Planning Your Research Visit

The UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center Research Room is open Monday-Friday, 9am-4pm. Appointments are recommended.

Planning your research visit is a two-step process:

  1. Schedule an appointment using the UK Libraries appointment system. Walk-ins are welcome.
    **Effective August 9, 2021** masks will be required inside of all UK Libraries campus locations, regardless of an individual's vaccination status, in accordance with the University of Kentucky's latest health and safety update.
  2. Request SCRC materials using one of the SCRC databases, the UK Libraries catalog, or directly through your SCRC Research Account. Most materials are stored off-site and require a minimum 48 hour advanced notice.

Director of Research Services

Profile Photo
Shawn Livingston
Contact:
Special Collection Research Center
216a Margaret I. King Library
University of Kentucky Libraries
40506-0039

859 218-1831

Your Research Account

Anyone wishing to order digital scans, view SCRC materials, visit the Breckinridge Research Room for in-person use of materials, or use the Breckinridge Digital Studio must first create an SCRC Research Account.

Use your Research Account to request retrieval of SCRC materials so they are ready and waiting for you when you arrive for your appointment. Since most of our collections are stored off-site, we ask that you request materials a minimum of 48 business hours in advance to ensure timely retrieval.

Your Research Account allows you to:

 

Historical Language Note

You may come across language in UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center collections and online resources that you find harmful or offensive. SCRC collects materials from different cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record. These materials document the time period when they were created and the view of their creator. As a result, some may demonstrate racist and offensive views that do not reflect the values of UK Libraries.

If you find description with problematic language that you think SCRC should review, please contact us at SCRC@uky.edu.