Meet with a Librarian
Schedule to meet with a librarian - either in person or via Zoom - to talk about your research project and how best to proceed. We can help you at any stage of the research process: brainstorming keywords, selecting the best databases, tracking down citations, managing citations, and so much more.
Schedule a consultation today!
General Resources
-
A-Z DatabasesThis link takes you directly to UK Libraries' A-Z Databases page.
-
Book & Media ExpressGet books, articles, and other UK library materials delivered fast!
-
E-JournalsHave an e-journal, magazine, or newspaper title? Look it up here.
-
InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog Search Tool (UK Libraries holdings)Use InfoKat Discovery to find materials owned and accessible at UK.
-
Interlibrary LoanQuick access to books and articles from other libraries.
-
Research GuidesCreated by UK subject specialist librarians to provide quick access to the major information resources in your discipline.
-
Scite AIResources and support for using this generative AI research tool.
-
UKnowledgeUKnowledge is a digital collection of unique scholarship created by University of Kentucky faculty, staff, students, departments, research centers, and administration.
How to Read and Analyze (Attack!) Scholarly Articles
-
How to (seriously) read a scientific paperSynthesizes responses from scientists about how they identify and apply the techniques that help them build understanding when reading scientific articles.
-
How To Read a PaperOn this page you will find links to articles in the BMJ that explain how to read and interpret different kinds of research papers.
-
Reading a Scholarly Article or Research PaperThis portion of a LibGuide from the University of Southern California's Libraries offers detailed guidance on how to read and make sense of an academic research paper in the social and behavioral sciences.
Impact Factors
-
Academic Journal Rankings GuideCovers measuring impact factor (bibliometrics & altmetrics)
-
Seminal Works GuideOutlines ways to locate seminal works in your field.
Finding Dissertations and Theses
-
Electronic Theses and Dissertations, University of Kentucky (through UKnowledge)Full-text access to electronically submitted theses and dissertations (ETDs) from the University of Kentucky. Note that this collection does not include access to all theses and dissertations from the University of Kentucky, but only those submitted electronically since June 2000. For electronic access to the full-text of selected dissertations completed at the University of Kentucky, use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Use InfoKat Discovery to find theses and dissertations in either paper or electronic format.
-
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
-
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Browse/Search ETD CollectionsBrowse and/or search through several electronic theses and dissertations collections. For European materials, including full-text, also consult DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP).
-
Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)Over 600,000 titles held at CRL are searchable through the catalog, including collections of newspapers, microform, journals, and dissertations. Coverage for all formats is international. Holdings are often unique and hard to find elsewhere.
Humanities
-
Learning Lab & Digital HumanitiesThis guide provides a brief introduction to digital humanities, examples, and a diagram to help you plan and prepare for your DH project.
-
Make an Appointment to use MicrofilmMicroform access is by appointment only for the foreseeable future. While same day appointments are possible, 24-hour notice is always appreciated and required for weekends.
-
Resources and Support for Digital HumanitiesThis site provides broad coverage of technologies, methodologies, resources, and scholarship in the digital humanities.
Social Sciences
-
Open Academic Research CourseThe Open Academic Research (OAR) Canvas course is aimed at budding researchers and graduate students. There are a wide variety of self-paced modules to explore research related topics.
-
Systematic Reviews in the Social SciencesResources for designing and completing evidence synthesis reviews.
-
Streaming SourcesThis guide provides tutorials on accessing and using content from a number of our most popular streaming media providers.
Science & Medicine
-
Evidence Based MedicineThis EBM guide provides general information and links to several high quality resources to aid in your search for evidence. In addition, you will find links to EBM resources provided by UK Libraries.
-
Getting Started with BrowZineBrowZine delivers thousands of academic journals to your iOS and Android device and now on the web.
-
Systematic ReviewsThis guide provides an overview of the systematic review process and a link to the systematic review consultation form.
-
Research Workshop Series Past RecordingsRecordings of the MCL research workshop series. Topics include specific databases, systematic reviews, advanced searching and more.
Research Data Management
-
Find Research DataOn this page, you'll find information on locating datasets that may meet your research needs. Data repositories listed here comprise a sampling; for more data sources, see Data Sources Provided by UK Libraries guide: https://libguides.uky.edu/datasources
-
Research Data Management GuideThis guide provides advice, resources, and contact information for people who can help you with all of your research data management needs.
Citation Management
You have access to two popular, widely-used reference and citation managers.
EndNote:
- Download EndNote for free (for UK students, faculty, & staff)
- Endnote Research Guide
- EndNote 20 Tutorial Video: For Windows and Mac
- Help with Endnote - training videos on YouTube
- EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio): Click is a web browser extension that provides single click access to add bibliographic and available full text from online resources into EndNote.
Zotero:
- Download Zotero for free
- Help with Zotero - support documentation
- Excellent Twitter feed: "Zotero 101: A step-by-step guide with visuals"
Finding Books on Shelves
-
Understanding call numbersWhat do all those letters and numbers on the books mean? This quick diagram explains.
Maps of each floor in Young Library help you locate the area you need.