Step 4: Conduct Screening
Use the inclusion and exclusion criteria defined in your protocol to remove studies that are not relevant to your topic. The first phase of study selection is the title/abstract screening, then the full text must be retrieved and screened to decide if the study should be included in your review. The standards dictate that at least two independent reviewers screen studies, resolving areas of disagreement by consensus or a third party who is an expert in the field. The University of Melbourne has a visual representation of common inclusion/exclusion criteria
Title/Abstract vs. Full Text Screening
Study selection is typically a multi-stage process in which potentially eligible studies are first identified from screening titles and abstracts then assessed through full-text review. Title/Abstract screening allows reviewers to quickly exclude large a large quantity of articles that are clearly off-topic due to content, study type, language, or other previously determined exclusion criteria. The full-text search is then used to review the full content of all remaining articles to determine validity for inclusion.
Title/Abstract Screening
- Completed before full-text screening
- Reviewers only review title and abstract to determine inclusion or exclusion
- Used to quickly eliminate articles that are clearly not topical, are an excluded study type, are in an excluded language, etc.
Full-Text Screening
- Completed after title/abstract screening
- Involves reading the entire article to determine inclusion/exclusion
- Must provide reasons for exclusion in full-text screening
Screening Tools
Screening tools are used to help organize, manage, and track the large volume of articles that are returned in systematic review searches. It is important to remember that all screening tools used (Rayyan, Endnote, Abstrackr, etc.) must be cited and described in the review methods.
Often, multiple tools will be used concurrently. For example, citations may be stored in Endnote, but deduplicated via SR Accelerator, and then screened in Rayyan. Therefore, it's important to document what tools are used and how they are used during the screening process so it can be accurately represented in your methodology.
EndNote
- Introduction to EndNoteEndNote is a citation management software that can be used to track and manage all articles in a systematic review. It also includes a built-in deduplicator that help remove multiple instances of the same article.
Additional Tools
- RayyanRayyan is a comprehensive, open source systematic review management software that specifically assists with the screening process. Rayyan allows the review process to be blinded, easily mark their decisions on inclusion/exclusion, help reviewers resolve conflicts, and more.
- SR AcceleratorSR Accelerator is a comprehensive suite of open source tools designed to assist in the entire systematic review process. In terms of screening, SR Accelerator's DeDuplication tool is one of the most thorough and effective deduplication tools available.
Learn More About These Tools
Deduplication
SR-Accelerator
A stand-alone deduplication tool included in a suite of systematic review tools
Strengths
- More sensitive than Endnote
- Commonly quicker deduplication process than Endnote
- Automates the process more by ranking articles by unlikely to highly likely duplications
Weaknesses
- Still requires the use of Endnote or another citation manager to generate .xml file and manage citations
- Only does deduplication
EndNote
A citation management tool with a built-in deduplicator
Strengths
- All citation management and deduplication can be done using this one tool
Weaknesses
- Less sensitive than SR Accelator's Deduplicator
- Does not rank citations based on likelihood of duplication
- Up to reviewer to do most work by hand
Templates & Tools
- Endnote ClickThe official Endnote browser extension that helps link full-text article access to Endnote.
- LibKey NomadA Google Chrome extension that automatically provides instant links to articles from journals subscribed to by your library – and Open Access sources – connecting you to literature discovered on the web.
- Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan (ILL) attempts to fill gaps in the UK Libraries' collection. If the collection lacks items needed for individual research, University of Kentucky faculty, students, and staff may be able to obtain loans or reproductions of the articles needed. Patrons are required to create an ILL account prior to using this service.
Data Assurance Tool
REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture) can be used to manage a systematic review and other evidence syntheses data. REDCap is available at UK's Center for Clinical and Translation Science (CCTS). Learn more about accessing UK's REDCap here:
- UK REDCapProvide by UK's Center for Clinical and Translation Science (CCTS)
In REDCap, researchers can create questions based on the review protocol since it defines how data will be extracted and what information will be gathered. REDCap allows for the programming of questions, which allows for standardization and assurance of data extraction among multiple reviewers. The Model Systems Knowledge Translation Center (MSKTC) provides a resource, Using REDCap for Systematic Reviews, that provides tips for using REDCap to manage data for a systematic review
- Using REDCap for Systematic ReviewsDeveloped by MSKTC under grant number 90DPKT0009 from the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). NIDILRR is a Center within the Administration for Community Living (ACL), Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Standards & Guidelines
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic ReviewsChapter 4: Selecting studies
- Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews.Recommended standards for screening and selecting studies.
- BMJ: PRISMA 2020 Explanation and ElaborationElaboration of the PRISMA 2020 checklist requirements with detailed examples.
- JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis1.6 Reporting and conduct standards
