Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Music & Music Research: Music Periodicals Database

Music Periodicals Database

                                                                                                                      

The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP+IIMP Full Text) – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 international music periodicals.

Search Music Periodicals Database

Guide for Searching Music Periodicals Database

Need help? The Music Periodicals Database Research Guide has tutorials, tips, and more.

Publications in Music Periodicals Database

What is Music Periodicals Database?

MUSIC PERIODICALS DATABASE is a citation index with some abstracts.

COVERAGE is from 1874 to the present.

FORMATS INDEXED are international musical periodicals.

SUBJECTS focus on classical and popular music.

FULL TEXT may be available online for some materials. Select  Full Text or Full Text--PDF to view; or click on the "View Now @ UK" icon to connect to InfoKat and ILL.

Tips for Search Music Periodicals Database

Search Strategy

Syntax

Sample Search

Retrieves---

Boolean Operators

AND  

mozart AND requiem

 

records with both terms

 

 

OR

opera OR musical

records with at least one of the terms

 

NOT

jazz NOT blues

records that contain “jazz” but exclude “blues”

Truncation retrieves 1 or more characters at the end of a search term

*

symphon*

symphony, symphonic, symphonisches, etc.

Wild Card retrieves 1 character at the end or inside a search term

?

despre?

despres, desprez

 

 

sch??nberg

schonberg, schönberg, schoenberg

Phrases

“   ”

“figured bass”

the EXACT phrase; good for song titles

Nesting/Parentheses

(   )

(nijinsky AND ballet) NOT stravinsky

items that exclude Stravinsky, but contain both nijinsky and ballet

Proximity

NEAR/#

palestrina NEAR/5 mass

results within 5 words of each other, any order

 

PRE/#

palestrina PRE/5

results within 5 words of each other, in order specified

Music Periodicals Database Basic Search Tutorial