RILM : Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale
RILM Abstracts of music literature (1967 to the present) is a music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 173 countries and are in 143 languages. There are currently over 840,000 records in RILM abstracts of music literature on traditional music, popular music, and classical music.
What Is RILM?
RILM is an abstracting index.
COVERAGE is from 1967 to the present. Coverage of conference proceedings goes back to 1835.
FORMATS INDEXED include scholarly journals, dissertations & theses, Festschriften, symposium/conference proceedings, monographs, e-resources, dictionaries, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, facsimiles & editions of music, websites, CD-ROMs, program notes, reviews, recording notes,
SUBJECT AREAS include acoustics, analysis, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, composition, dance, dramatic arts, ethnomusicology, iconography, jazz, librarianship, literature, mathematics, musicology, organology, pedagogy, perception, performance practice, performance studies, philosophy, physics, popular music, psychology, religion, sociology, theory, therapy, women's studies.
FULL TEXT may be available online for some materials. Look for the "View Now" icon or select the "Linked Full Text" option on the search page.
Tips for Searching RILM
|
Search Strategy |
Syntax |
Sample Search |
Retrieves--- |
|
Boolean Operators |
AND |
mozart AND requiem
|
records with both terms
|
|
|
OR |
opera OR musical |
records with at least one of the terms |
| NOT | jazz NOT blues | records that contain "jazz" but exclude "blues" | |
|
Truncation |
* |
symphon* |
symphony, , symphonic, symphonisches, etc. |
|
Wild Card : Alternate Spelling |
# |
sch#nberg |
schonberg, schönberg, schoenberg |
|
Wild Card: Unknown Character |
? |
despre? |
despres, desprez |
|
Phrases |
“ ” |
“figured bass” |
the EXACT phrase; good for song titles |
|
Nesting/Parentheses |
( ) |
(nijinsky AND ballet) NOT stravinsky |
items that exclude "stravinsky", but contain both "nijinsky" and "ballet" |
|
Proximity |
n# |
machaut n5 virelai |
results within 5 words of each other, any order |
|
|
w# |
machaut w5 virelai |
results within 5 words of each other, in order specified |
Suggestions to help you get started:
- Advanced Search Start with this search mode
- Boolean/Phrase Use this default
- Apply related words Check this box to include true synonyms and plurals of your terms
- Limits Set limits for Publication Date, Language, Linked Full Text, Document Type
Search RILM
Journal Titles in RILM
Over 12,000 journals are indexed in RILM. Click here to see the list of Journal Titles in RILM.
Types of Documents in RILM
AD - Article in a dictionary
AE - Article in a Festschrift
AG - Article in a blog
AL - Article in a newsletter
AM - Article in a magazine
AN - Article in a newspaper
AP - Article in a periodical
AS - Article in a symposium/conference proceedings
AW - Article in an edition of music
EA - Article in a website, or on a CD-ROM
BC - Collection of essays
BE - Festschrift
BF - Facsimile or reprint edition
BG - Blog
BM - Monograph
BP - Periodical (thematic issue)
BS - Symposium proceedings
BT - Translation
MP - Motion picture
MR - Sound recording
CP - Program notes
CR - Recording notes
CS - Commentary apart from edition
CW - Edition of music
DD - Doctoral dissertation
DM - Non-doctoral thesis
MD - Technical drawing of instruments
ER - Electronic resource
RB - Review of a book
RC - Review of a collection
RD - Review of a dissertation
RE - Review of a Festschrift
RF - Review of a facsimile or reprint
RM - Review of an edition of music
RN - Review of a technical drawing
RP - Review of a periodical
RR - Review of a recording
RS - Review of a symposium proceedings
RT - Review of a translation
RV - Review of a motion picture
RX - Review of an electronic resource