Music Indexes
- Music IndexContains indexing and abstracts of articles about music and citations for book reviews, obituaries, and news articles. Includes articles from over 660 journals; coverage dating back to 1964.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseFormerly IMMP (International Index to Music Periodicals), MPD provides indexing, abstracts, and some full-text articles for international music periodicals and journals.
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureRILM features citations, indexing, and abstracts and covers publications beginning in 1800. All types of music are included with citations from books, conference proceedings, journals, dissertations, internet resources, and A/V recordings.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music PeriodicalsAn international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture published in 17 countries between 1766-1962. Some direct access to the full-text of the article cited.
Search Music Index
Search Music Periodicals Database
Search RILM
Search RISM
Search RIPM
Other Indexes & Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index in Web of Science indexes 87 major American and European art periodicals such as Apollo, ARTnews, Art Bulletin, museum journals, etc.
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)Over 600,000 titles held at CRL are searchable through the catalog, including collections of newspapers, microform, journals, and dissertations. Coverage for all formats is international. Holdings are often unique and hard to find elsewhere.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both files provide abstracts. Coverage includes: conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
- Historical AbstractsThe premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- MLA International BibliographyOffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the online version dates back to 1963 and contains citations from over 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- Project MuseCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Web of Science: All DatabasesScientific and academic research, patent analytics and regulatory standards, pharmaceutical and biotech intelligence, trademark protection, domain brand protection, and intellectual property management services.
Open-Access Music Journals
Open-access journals are digital, online journals that are free to access and often free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.
- DOAJ (Directory of Open-Access Journals)The DOAJ provides a index to over 16,000 open-access journals, of which 82% are from academic organizations.
- Open-Access Music JournalsA searchable database of open-access music journals, maintained by Matthew Franke.
- Open Access Research GuideLearn more about open access in education and research at Adrian Ho's Open Access research guide.
Oxford Bibliographies in Music
In Oxford Bibliographies in Music, each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
Clink on the [+] Find this resource: link to access online content available through UK Libraries.
ILLiad InterLibrary Loan
Use InterLibrary Loan to get an article that UK does not own.
Login to ILLiad.
Get Text UK
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.