Music DH is a project of the Digital Humanities Interest Group of the Music Library Association. You can browse or search an open-source bibliography of specialized digital resources and born-digital scholarship in music.
Database of collections of concert programs from the 18th century to the present held in European libraries, archives and museums. Search by people, places, times, institutions, subjects and interactive map.
The Josquin Research Project (JRP) changes what it means to engage with Renaissance music by making the music fully searchable: in a few clicks you can identify every instance of a given melodic and/or rhythmic pattern. The JRP also provides analytical tools that can be used to gain insight into individual works, the style of a given composer, or the musical lingua franca.
Taking as our inspiration and focus one of the most influential figures of the Italian Renaissance, Isabella d’Este (1474-1539), IDEA offers users around the world new ways to explore the history and culture of early modern Italy. IDEA’s primary materials are Isabella’s letters, music, and art collections, as they evolved during her reign as the marchesa of Mantua.
BMLO contains biographies, searchable data, and digital media of musicians from or in Bavaria (current state territory). Included are composers and conductors, singers, instrumentalists, music publishers, musical instruments makers, and music researchers who spent important phases of their lives and/ or their work in Bavaria from all historical eras up to the present.
A research project, based at Pratt's Semantic Lab, investigates the application of Linked Open Data technologies to digital cultural heritage materials. The project draws on jazz history materials in digital format to expose relationships between musicians and reveal their community network.
Musical Passage tells the story of an important, but little known record of early African diasporic music. The site offers a careful interpretation of a single rare artifact, from Hans Sloane's 1707 Voyage to the Islands of Mader, barbados, Nieves, S. Christophers and Jamaica.
The map shows the distribution of Italian Music Centers in 1650 and was included by Norton to show the impact of Spanish conquest in Southern Italy on Italian musical traditions. The greater concentration of cities in the north stands out against the three southern cities in an apparent indication that northern Italy held primacy in musical pursuits and patronage during the 17th century.
George L. White founded The Fisk Jubilee Singers in Nashville, Tennessee in 1871. The group was comprised of students attending Fisk University, an institution organized by the American Missionary Association for the education of freed slaves after the emancipation. Despite an unremarkable beginning in the Midwest, the Fisk Jubilee Singers became a sensation in the Northeast United States, and later in Central Europe.
This project is based on the surviving libretti, both printed and manuscript, for operas in Italian performed in London. It provides a mechanism by which aria texts can be traced through different libretti, as they were moved from one opera to another by impresarios, conductors, and singers.
Systematically explores the dissemination of opera buffa in Europe from 1740 to 1765 in order to examine how and under which circumstances opera buffa became a European phenomenon during this time period.