Music Index
Music Index is a citation index to music periodical literature and provides citations to book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Online coverage is from 1970 to the present.
What Is Music Index?
MUSIC INDEX is a citation index with some abstracts.
COVERAGE is from 1970 to the present. [Print volumes in Reference ML118.M84 cover 1949-2007.]
FORMATS INDEXED are international musical periodicals.
SUBJECTS focus on classical and popular music.
FULL TEXT may be available online for some materials. Select PDF Full View to view; or click on the "View Now @ UK" icon to connect to InfoKat and ILL.
- Music IndexContains indexing and abstracts of articles about music and citations for book reviews, obituaries, and news articles. Includes articles from over 660 journals; coverage dating back to 1964.
Tips for Searching Music Index
|
Search Strategy |
Syntax |
Sample Search |
Retrieves--- |
|
Boolean Operators |
AND |
mozart AND requiem
|
records with both terms
|
|
|
OR |
opera OR musical |
records with at least one of the terms |
| NOT | jazz NOT blues | records that contain "jazz" but exclude "blues" | |
|
Truncation |
* |
symphon* |
symphony, , symphonic, symphonisches, etc. |
|
Wild Card : Alternate Spelling |
# |
sch#nberg |
schonberg, schönberg, schoenberg |
|
Wild Card: Unknown Character |
? |
despre? |
despres, desprez |
|
Phrases |
“ ” |
“figured bass” |
the EXACT phrase; good for song titles |
|
Nesting/Parentheses |
( ) |
(nijinsky AND ballet) NOT stravinsky |
items that exclude "stravinsky", but contain both "nijinsky" and "ballet" |
|
Proximity |
n# |
machaut n5 virelai |
results within 5 words of each other, any order |
|
|
w# |
machaut w5 virelai |
results within 5 words of each other, in order specified |
Suggestions to help you get started:
- Advanced Search Start with this search mode
- Boolean/Phrase Use this default
- Apply related words Check this box to include true synonyms and plurals of your terms
- Limits Set limits for Publication Date, Language, Linked Full Text, Document Type