Streaming Audio at UK Libraries
- Classical Music Library Streaming classical music service that enables listening and learning on campus and home computers. Includes c. 15,000 recordings, along with program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings.
- DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes, and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other important labels. Includes the Experimental Intermedia Archive.
Streaming Video at UK Libraries
- Medici.tv Streaming access to thousands of classical music, opera, and dance videos; includes filmed musicals since the 1940s, filmed concerts, documentaries, masterclasses, and live broadcasts. Also contains synopses, casts, and performers' biographies.
- Met Opera on Demand: Student Access Streaming access to 550+ full-length Met performances in various video and audio versions.
- Naxos Video Library Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries; includes full-length videos. You can create custom clips, edit them and add them to individual playlists. Search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival. Libretto/text is included when available. Please note: Limited to two simultaneous users.
Other Streaming Resources at UK Libraries
- American Music A vast collection of music streaming files. American Music includes contemporary folk/roots/Americana music, early rock & roll, soul, funk, R&B, doo-wop, boogie-woogie, early Biograph recordings, blues, jazz, gospel, spirituals, disco, blues-rock, reggae, bluegrass, country, rockabilly, and honky-tonk.
- Naxos Music Library Jazz Streaming music site that includes c. 65,000 tracks of jazz from over 6,000 albums with over 12,000 jazz artists (as of Feb. 2012). The music is drawn Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 150 other labels. Select works by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number. New jazz releases are continually added. Please note: Limited to two simultaneous users
- Smithsonian Global Sound Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Comprised of thousands tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this streaming encyclopedia provides listeners with a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Free Streaming Resources
- Classic Jazz OnlineJazz music of the early 20th century.
- EuroArtsChannelEuroArts Music YouTube channel.
- Europeana Collections : SoundTraditional and folk music from European countries.
- Global JukeboxMusic, dance, and speech from around the world.
- J. S. Bach Organ WorksRecorded by James Kibbe.
- National Jukebox (Library of Congress)Recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
- Tiny Desk ConcertsNPR's video series of live concerts hosted by Bob Boilen of All Songs Considered.
Search InfoKat Discovery
Can't Find What You Want?
Many libraries loan AV materials. Check WorldCat and submit a request through ILLiad.
Try the Lexington Public Library. It has a large circulating AV collection. UK students have borrowing privileges.